MARC, Chamber of Commerce, Kiwanis sponsoring 5-mile race


April 30, 1996|By Vicki Wellford | Vicki Wellford,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THE MARYLAND Rail Commuter service (MARC), the West Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce and the Odenton Kiwanis Club are collaborating to conduct a five-mile foot race in Odenton July 20.

Trophies will be awarded to winners in each age group, Kiwanis and Kiwanis Key Club winners, chamber member or employee winner and MARC employee winner.

The race will start and finish at the Odenton MARC station. The fee for entries postmarked by July 13 is $12. On race day, the fee will be $15.

Information: (410) 721-0595, (301) 621-7302 or (202) 488-8595.

Sunday breakfast

The Knights of Columbus will hold a breakfast from 8 a.m. to noon Sunday in the council home on Becknel Avenue in Odenton. The menu will include eggs, sausage, ham, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, pancakes and drinks. The cost is $3.75 for adults, $2.50 for children; maximum of $12 per family.

Barbecue and bake sale

Trinity United Methodist Church will hold a barbecue chicken carry-out and bake sale from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m. May 11. The cost is $4, which includes half a chicken, cole slaw and a roll. All proceeds benefit the United Methodist Women. The church is at 956 Patuxent Road.

Women's group meeting

The Christian German American Women's Group has changed its meeting date to the third Monday of the month. A meeting will be held at noon May 20 in the blue room of the Chapel Center on Rockenbach Avenue, Fort Meade.

The club had to say farewell to its president Sylvia McDowell, but members are hopeful she will return. The new club president is Irene Kucholick, whose phone number is (301) 621-7862, and the new vice president is Lisa Beilke, whose number is (301) 604-5880.

The club promotes Christian fellowship, German culture and language.

Pub Date: 4/30/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.