Residents fight plan for entrance to new school

April 25, 1996|By Mary Gail Hare | Mary Gail Hare,SUN STAFF

The controversy about where to place the entrance to an elementary school in South Carroll has residents at odds with the county Planning Commission and could delay the planned 1998 opening of the school.

On April 2, the county Planning Commission approved a proposal to put the entrance to the school at Ronsdale and Linton roads. Yesterday, Linton Springs Homeowners Association filed an appeal of that decision.

The county plans to build the school, a fifth South Carroll elementary for 745 students, on 25 acres west of Linton Road and north of Route 26.

Residents had pushed for an entrance from Route 26. Because that option would require a traffic light, the State Highway Administration denied the request.

The association filed an appeal with the Board of Zoning Appeals and also has appealed to the County Commissioners and the state Board of Education.

Barry Marsh, association president, said a traffic study should have preceded the Planning Commission decision.

"We have said all along that if the county wants to use Ronsdale, they have to show us how it will work," he said. "Nobody has a clue about what has to be done."

More than 200 families use Linton Road for access to Route 26. A development with 88 more homes under construction will use Ronsdale Road for access to Linton.

Many children in the subdivision will walk to the new school, the largest in the area. Residents want assurances that sidewalks and traffic controls will be provided though they say they don't want to give up the Route 26 option.

Lester Surber, county supervisor for school facilities planning, said he hopes to find a compromise. He will meet with association members at 7: 30 p.m. Tuesday at Eldersburg branch library, 6400 W. Hemlock Drive.

Pub Date: 4/25/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.