Cub Pack 692 says goodbye to Lightning Bolts, Vikings dens


April 09, 1996|By Natalie Harvey | Natalie Harvey,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

CUB PACK 692 held its Webelos Arrow of Light and Bridging Ceremony last month at Waterloo Elementary School for the Lightning Bolts and Vikings dens.

Lightning Bolts den leaders Bill Nitzel and Richard Ko said that their Webelos -- Jimmy Baker, Peter Dobbs, Ryan Gray, David Ko, Thomas Morrison and Chris Nitzel -- had selected Boy Scout Troop 874 as their new troop.

Vikings den leaders John Zimmerman and Wendell Thomas' Webelos chose three troops to join.

Nonso Maduka and Phillip Thomas are bridging to Boy Scout Troop 794; Hans Moeller joins Troop 874; David Zimmerman and Matt Kosiba selected Troop 759. Troop representatives were present to welcome their new members.

Cubmaster Rick Macinnes presented BSA Order of the Arrow members David Buckler and Nick Thomas, who officiated in Indian costume at the Arrow of Light and Bridging ceremony. Michael and Shaun Pierce were recognized for earning the Faith in God Cub Scout Religious Award.

Craft fair

Oakland Mills High School's Parent Teacher Student Association President Barbara Schmeckpeper and craft fair Chairwoman Diana Talabac extend an invitation to artisans who would like to participate in the PTSA's annual Craft Fair in November.

Applications for the juried show, coordinated by Melodi Smith, -- may be obtained by calling (301) 596-2826 or can be picked up at the school office.

The PTSA uses money raised from the Craft Fair for its activities to benefit the students.

'Monte Carlo Night'

Supreme Sports Club members and their guests are invited to dress in creative black tie and tennis shoes for "Monte Carlo Night" from 8: 30 p.m. to midnight April 20 at 7080 Deepage Drive in Owen Brown.

Guests can dance, eat and play blackjack, roulette, wheels of fortune and sports games.

There will be children's' activities in a separate area. The Columbia Foundation will benefit from ticket sales.

Members are reminded that they can earn free tickets through the Member Appreciation Campaign.

Information: Shawni Paraska, 715-3000.

Benefit basketball

Tyrell Fields' many friends gathered recently for a basketball game to raise money to help him recover from injuries received in a car accident last year.

Tyrell is a first-grader at Phelps Luck Elementary School, Long Reach Village.

Staff members from Phelps Luck and St. John's Lane played against a team of WBAL staff members. WBAL's captain, Charles Stoble, made the last-second winning shot for his team.

The evening was a joint effort by both schools because Tyrell was attending St John's Lane Elementary at the time of the accident.

Beth and Brian Bottescini, special events leaders for St. John's PTA, coordinated the game and the silent auction.

Stream Team monitors

Columbian Sue Muller is looking for students and adults who are lovers of the outdoors and would like to volunteer for the "Stream Team."

Their jobs will be testing water at 60 sites in Howard County, many with direct effect on Columbia's streams.

Financed by a Chesapeake Bay Trust fund, the volunteers will note areas of pollution and erosion, reforestation and wildlife needs.

Call 313-4697 to register for Saturday's 8: 30 a.m. training class.

Poetry reading

Next Tuesday's 7 p.m. poetry reading by Nancy Hirsche at the East Columbia library will be a more quiet event but as self-satisfying as a party. She will read 20th-century poet and dramatist Frederico Garcia Lorca's works.

The evening is sponsored by the Hispanic Cultural Association of Maryland and Maryland Humanities Council.

Registration: 313-7768.

Alice in Columbia

Men and women can wear their most outrageous hats to an afternoon of fun at the "Mad Hatter's Tea Party" at 1 p.m. tomorrow at East Columbia library's 50+ Center.

For information and reservations, please call 313-7680.

Pub Date: 4/09/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.