5 finalists revealed for Salisbury State chief Contenders to visit Shore campus next month

March 28, 1996|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

Salisbury State University released yesterday the names of five finalists for the presidency of the Eastern Shore liberal arts school, a list that includes several current and former campus chiefs but no internal candidates.

Each candidate will make a two-day visit to the campus next month.

The candidates are:

William C. Merwin, president of the State University of New York at Potsdam, who is former president of Montana State University's Northern campus. He holds a doctorate of education in history and social science education.

Bethany S. Oberst, vice president for academic affairs at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Va. Before going to James Madison, she was dean of arts and letters for a decade at Southwest Missouri State University. She has a doctorate in French from Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland.

Kenneth L. Perrin, senior vice president for the University of Hawaii System and chancellor of the system's campuses in Hilo and West Oahu. He is a former president of West Chester College in Pennsylvania and the Council on Postsecondary Education, and earned a doctorate in speech and hearing from Stanford University's medical school.

G. David Pollick, a visiting scholar at Harvard University's education school, who was president of the Art Institute of Chicago and the State University of New York at Cortland. He received a doctorate in philosophy from the University of Ottawa.

G. Warren Smith, former president of Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, who holds a doctorate in chemistry from Cornell University.

K. Nelson Butler has been acting president since the November resignation of Thomas A. Bellavance, who died of lung cancer last month at 62.

Pub Date: 3/28/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.