Virginia book festivalThe Second Annual Virginia Festival...


March 28, 1996|By Heidi Burns

Virginia book festival

The Second Annual Virginia Festival of the Book will be held this weekend in and around Charlottesville. The event will feature more than 100 writers, including Nikki Giovanni, Steven Ambrose, Rita Dove and David McCullough.

This year's festival will explore a broad range of topics related to the writing, design, publication, appreciation and enjoyment of books. Participants can participate in more than 125 scheduled events, including "The Last Laugh", a discussion on humor and fiction, tomorrow afternoon, a poetry reading by Ms. Giovanni on Saturday evening and a family adventure in poetry on Sunday. The festival will open at noon today on the Downtown Mall, with former Poet Laureate Rita Dove presenting the keynote address.

The 1996 festival is sponsored in part by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities. Most activities are free and open to the public. Schedules for the event are available at bookstores and libraries in the Charlottesville area. For more information call (804) 924-7548. This year's running of the Marlborough Hunt Club's annual point-to-point races will take place on Sunday at historic Roedown Farm in Davidsonville. Highlights include the $1,500 John D. Bowling Memorial Steeplechase, a two-mile open hurdle race, and the $2,000 John Murray Begg Memorial, a three-mile open timber race. Other events in the afternoon program include flat races, pony races for junior riders and two Maryland Governor's Cup Series races. A total of $7,000 in purses will be awarded.

Roedown Farm is 15 minutes from Annapolis at Harwood and Wayson roads. Admission is $5 per person and parking is $5 per car. The first race begins at noon, and all races will be held, rain or shine. No dogs, please. For more information call (410) 798-5040.

Pub Date: 3/28/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.