1996 All-harford County Basketball Teams

March 24, 1996|By John W. Stewart

Boys teams


Co-Player of the Year

Gabe Neal, Aberdeen, 6-6, Sr., C: On a balanced team with six top players, he was one of the three who averaged 11 points, and one of the three with nine rebounds. His size and shot-blocking ability often were dimensions other teams could not handle.

Co-Player of the Year

Pete Surette, Harford Tech, 5-11, Sr., G: A second-time All-County choice, he averaged 18.1 points and a county-high eight assists on offense, despite attracting the most attention from the opposition. On defense, he drew the opposing team's top player.


Coach of the year

Ron Petrey, Aberdeen: He guided the Eagles (22-3) to county and regional championships, and an 18-game winning streak, before losing the state Class 2A final. In his eighth year as head coach, engineered school's first state tournament team since 1986, one featuring role players who played well together.

The first team

Billy Jackson, Havre de Grace, 5-10, Sr., G: Gave well-balanced team quickness and good direction, plus 13.7 points, 5.3 assists, 3.6 steals.

Jeff Miles, John Carroll, 6-5, Sr., C: Provided scoring (16.0) and rebounding (8.9) for MIAA team, and was first in county in three-pointers (47).

Ryan Renfrow, North Harford, 6-2, Sr., G: The county scoring leader (21.2 points on 52 percent shooting from the field, 73 percent from the foul line) also averaged seven rebounds, five assists, and five steals.

Mark Stevens, Aberdeen, 6-2, Sr., G: One of the best defensive players in the county also had a solid offensive game, averaging nine points, three assists.

Nick Triandafilou, Bel Air, 6-1, Jr., G: An outstanding shooter for a team that struggled, he averaged 18 points (54 percent on two-pointers; 50 percent on three-pointers), and was county's

best at the foul line, 84 percent.

Second team

Bryan Barrett, John Carroll; J. R. Clark, Havre de Grace; Brock Jourdan, North Harford; Bill Kelly, Fallston; Khary Morris, Harford Tech; James Smith, Aberdeen; Damion Smothers, Edgewood; Peter Troilo, C. Milton Wright.

Honorable mention

Duane Fisher, C. Milton Wright; Mike Griffin, Edgewood; Kevin Gross, Havre de Grace; Tommie Mims, Aberdeen; Dave Rueckert, C. Milton Wright; John Sawyer, Havre de Grace; Thedrick Tapp, Edgewood; Adam Vesely, Aberdeen.

Pub Date: 3/24/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.