Roll-call vote

March 22, 1996

In a 57-81 vote, the Maryland House of Delegates yesterday defeated a proposal that would have eliminated state funding for the $200 million football stadium to be built at Camden Yards for the former Cleveland Browns. Those voting "yes" sought to block the funding, while those voting "no" supported money for the stadium. Here's how delegates voted:

Voting Yes

Baker, Rushern L. III, D-Prince George's Baldwin, Robert C. R-Anne Arundel Barve, Kumar P., D-Montgomery Beck, Raymond, R-Montgomery Billings, Leon G., D-Montgomery Bissett, Philip, R-Anne Arundel Bobo, Elizabeth, D-Howard Brinkley, David R., R-Frederick Burns, Michael W., R-Anne Arundel Ciliberti, Barrie S., R-Montgomery Clagett, Virginia P., D-Anne Arundel Conroy, Mary A., D-Prince George's Crumlin, Michael A., D-Prince George's Cryor, Jean, R-Montgomery Dembrow, Dana Lee, D-Montgomery Eckardt, Adelaide C., R-Dorchester Elliott, Donald B., R-Carroll Exum, Nathaniel, D-Prince George's Faulkner, Patricia, R-Montgomery Flanagan, Robert L., R-Howard Frush, Barbara, D-Prince George's Genn, Gilbert J., D-Montgomery Goldwater, Marilyn R., D- Montgomery Gordon, Michael R., D-Montgomery Greenip, Janet, R-Anne Arundel Grosfeld, Sharon, D-Montgomery Hubbard, James W., D-Prince George's Hughes, Don B., R-Wicomico Hurson, John A., D-Montgomery Jacobs, Nancy, R-Harford Kach, A. Wade, R-Baltimore County Kagan, Cheryl C., D-Montgomery Kittleman, Robert H., R-Howard Klima, Martha S., R-Baltimore County La Vay, Richard, R-Montgomery Leopold, John R., R-Anne Arundel Mandel, Adrienne A., D-Montgomery McKee, Robert A., R-Washington Menes, Pauline H., D-Prince George's Morgan, John S., R-Prince George's Mossburg, Matthew J., R-Montgomery O'Donnell, Anthony J., R-Calvert Pendergrass, Shane, D-Howard Perry, Marsha G., D-Anne Arundel Poole, D. Bruce, D-Washington Ports, James F., R-Baltimore County Rosapepe, James C., D-Prince George's Rudolph, David D., D-Cecil Rzepkowski, James E., R-Anne Arundel Schade, Victoria R-Anne Arundel Schisler, Kenneth, R-Talbot Shriver, Mark K., D-Montgomery Snodgrass, Louise V., R-Frederick Stocksdale, Nancy, R-Carroll Stull, Paul S., R-Frederick Stup, J. Anita, R-Frederick Walkup, Mary Roe, R-Kent

Voting No

Arnick, John S., D-Baltimore County Baker, Wheeler R. D-Queen Anne's Benson, Joanne C., D-Prince George's Bonsack, Rose Mary Hatem, D-Harford Boston, Frank D. Jr., D-Baltimore Bozman, Bennett, D-Worcester Branch, Talmadge, D-Baltimore Busch, Michael E., D-Anne Arundel Cadden, Joan, D-Anne Arundel Campbell, James W., D-Baltimore Conway, Norman H., D-Wicomico Cummings, Elijah E., D-Baltimore Curran, Gerald J., D-Baltimore Davis, Clarence, D-Baltimore Davis, Dereck, D- Prince George's DeCarlo, Diane, D-Baltimore County Dewberry, Thomas E., D-Baltimore County Doory, Ann Marie, D-Baltimore Dypski, Cornell N., D-Baltimore Edwards, George C., R-Garrett Finifter, Michael J., D-Baltimore County Franchot, Peter, D-Montgomery Frank, Robert, D-Baltimore County Fry, Donald C., D-Harford Fulton, Tony E., D-Baltimore Guns, Ronald A., D-Cecil Hammen, Peter A., D-Baltimore Harkins, James M., R-Harford Harrison, Hattie N., D-Baltimore Healey, Anne, D-Prince George's Hecht, Sue; D-Frederick Heller, Henry B., D-Montgomery Hixson, Sheila E., D-Montgomery Holt, Kenneth, R-Baltimore County Howard, Carolyn J.B., D-Prince George's Hughes, Brenda, D-Prince George's Hutchins, Thomas E., R-Charles Kelly, James M.,R-Baltimore Kirk, Ruth M., D-Baltimore Klausmeier, Katherine, D-Baltimore County Kopp, Nancy K., D-Montgomery Krysiak, Carolyn, D-Baltimore Linton, Samuel C., D-Charles Love, Mary Ann, D-Anne Arundel Malone, James E., Jr., D-Baltimore County Marriott, Salima S., D-Baltimore McClenahan, Charles A., R-Somerset McHale, Brian K., D-Baltimore McIntosh, Maggie L., D-Baltimore Minnick, Joseph J., D-Baltimore County Mitchell, Clarence IV, D-Baltimore Mitchell, Van T., D-Charles Mohorovic, Jacob J., D-Baltimore County Montague, Kenneth C., Jr., D-Baltimore Morhaim, Dan K., D-Baltimore County Murphy, Donald E., R-Baltimore County Murphy, Timothy D., D-Baltimore Muse, C. Anthony, D-Prince George's Nathan-Pulliam, Shirley, D-Baltimore Oaks, Nathaniel T., D-Baltimore Opara, Clay C., D-Baltimore Owings, George W. III, D-Calvert Palumbo, Richard A., D-Prince George's Parker, Joan N., D-Baltimore Patterson, Obie, D-Prince George's Petzold, Carol S., D-Montgomery Pitkin, Joan B., D-Prince George's Preis, Mary Louise, D-Harford Proctor, James E. Jr., D-Prince George's Rawlings, Howard P., D-Baltimore Redmer Jr., Alfred, R-Baltimore County Rosenberg, Samuel I. D-Baltimore Slade, John F. III, D-St. Mary's Taylor, Casper R., Jr., D-Allegany Turner, Frank S., D-Howard Valderrama, David M., D-Prince George's Vallario, Joseph F. Jr., D-Prince George's Weir, Michael H., D-Baltimore County Willis, Ellen L., D-Carroll Wood, John F. Jr., D-St. Mary's Workman, Betty, D-Allegany

Not Voting

Burns, Emmett C., Jr., D-Baltimore Donoghue, John P., D-Washington* Getty, Joseph M., R-Carroll*

* Delegates Donoghue and Getty said they had a conflict of interest and were excused from voting under House rules. Mr. Donoghue works for Legg Mason, which he said might seek bond work in connection with the stadium. Mr. Getty works at the law firm where Maryland Stadium Authority Chairman John A. Moag is employed.

Pub Date: 3/22/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.