Scholar Athlete dinner set for tonight at Martin's West 87 football players from area nominated

March 13, 1996

The 33rd Annual Scholar Athlete Awards Dinner will be held tonight at 6 at Martin's West.

The scholar-athletes, who represent football-playing high schools in the Baltimore metropolitan area, are selected by their schools primarily for their ability on the football field and in the classroom.

Every football-playing high school in Baltimore, Anne Arundel, Harford, Howard, Carroll and Frederick counties and Baltimore City is invited to submit a nominee. The selection committee then picks the grand-prize winner ($4,000) and four other regional winners ($1,500 apiece).

Navy football coach Charlie Weatherbie will be the featured speaker.

Here is a list of the 87 nominees:

Mike Amrein, Parkville; Phil Ateto, Glen Burnie; Jamal Avery, Southwestern; Aaron Baker, Woodlawn; Zachary Bergling, Dundalk; Chris Berrier, St. Paul's; Jay Boardley, Carver Vo-Tech; Adam Booth, Southern-AA; Denny Bowers Jr., Westminster; Jason Brecht, Calvert Hall; Joe Brooks, Edmondson; Joey Brown, Northern-Balt.; Justin Brown, Linganore; LaKoven Bullie, Milford Mill; Chris Bunn, Chesapeake-BC; Ryan Burch, Loyola; Andre Burton, Owings Mills; Greg Cherry, Edgewood; Joe Chromo, Overlea; Joe Comer, Havre de Grace; Scott Copinger, Kenwood; Gaelen Cross, Liberty; Bill Curran, Archbishop Curley; Jeremy Desor, Mount Hebron. Kevin Doucet, Northeast; George Fewster III, Meade; Jim Fielder, C.M. Wright; Toney Fowlkes III, North County; Charlie Gallagher, South Carroll; Jeff Gavin, Dulaney; Dylan Gentile, Wilde Lake; Dwayne Green, Dunbar; Joe Grigonis, Severna Park; Brandt Hager, Annapolis; Kris Hallengren, Patapsco; Jeff Hamm, Poly; Damon Hildebrand, Frederick; Steve Hildebrand, Walkersville; Brian Howard, Oakland Mills; Craig Hull, Loch Raven; Jake Hunter, Boys' Latin; Dan Lowman, Lansdowne; Ross Lusco, Randallstown; Michael McKnight, Arundel; Braxton McNeill, St. Mary's; Paul Marick, Glenelg; Chris Martin, Broadneck; Mike Massarini, Spalding; Andrew Mercer, Brunswick; Willie Mitchell, Hickey; George Mitroka, Centennial; Colin Moorhouse, Gibbons. Troy Morton, Forest Park. Baye Murphy, Northwestern; Hurcules Murray III, Aberdeen; Kevin Necessary, Chesapeake-AA; Peter Nothstein, Towson; Matthew O'Donnell, Mount St. Joe; Matt Olear, Catonsville; Matt Osborne, McDonogh; Terry Otto Jr., Patterson; Kyong Pak, North Carroll; Chin Pann, Perry Hall; Brandon Prichard, Eastern Tech; Tim Puckett, F.S. Key; Jerry Rahl, Fallston; Raymond Richardson, Walbrook; Jeremy Riddle, Hereford; Aaron Roberts, City; Jason Sandner, Atholton; Tim Schindler, Bel Air; Nick Simmons, Old Mill; Aaron Smith, Mervo; Richard Smith, Western Tech; Donnell Spalding, Lake Clifton; Tom Staab, North Harford; Ryan Stangle, John Carroll; John Stride, Catoctin; Jon Tobery, Middletown; Frank Tortella Jr., Howard; Tom Truxillo Jr., Thomas Johnson; Chris Wilson, Friends; Russell Wrenn, Gilman; Willis Wu, Severn; Niam Young, Sparrows Point; Chad Zooker, Pikesville; Ari Zytcer, Hammond.

Pub Date: 3/13/96

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.