Owings Mills, Lackey locked into close contest in 1A-2A semifinals

March 02, 1996|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Heading into today's 1A-2A state semifinals after one night, No. 1 Owings Mills (53.5 points), going for its second straight state crown and its fourth overall, and Lackey (42.5) of Charles County are in a fierce race for the top spot.

On the 3A-4A side, Montgomery County's Damascus is running away with the team race, having 58 points, followed by Northern of Calvert County, and South Carroll (31) and Westminster (29).

Owings Mills of Baltimore County had advanced Ari Dolid (135), Steve Kessler (145), Shaun Andoll (160) and Willie Broadnax (171), and Lackey's Jacob Kirby (112), Richard Paule (125), Cecil McPhereson (160) and Kevin Gilligan (189) were in the semis.

Kessler, who is a state-record 107-0, is attempting to win his third consecutive crown, and Broadnax (30-3), who recorded two pins last night, is trying to improve on last year's third-place finish.

Andoll and McPherson will meet in the lone head-to-head semifinal between the two teams.

Southern-AA's Tyrone Neal (140) is attempting to win his third straight state crown, and Sparrows Point's Tommy Free (119), his second.

In 3A-4A, Carroll County's three unbeatens -- North Carroll's Tommy Kiler (140) and South Carroll wrestlers Mike Chenoweth (171) and Charlie Conaway (160) -- got through unscathed.

Kiler, a defending champ, is 25-0, and both Chenoweth and Conaway are 29-0.

Another defending state champ, Centennial's Joon Kim (189), earned a fall in his first bout, but nearly got pinned in his second -- a 10-7 decision over Westlake's Brandan Trichel.

Arundel junior Isaac Haertel (152), trying to improve on last year's runner-up finish at 145, bounced his quarterfinal opponent, Centennial's Robert Rix, by 11-3.

South Carroll also got a gutsy effort from Dan Alberter (130), who improved to 26-3. He suffered a shoulder injury against Old Mill's Gary Serago in the quarterfinals, but fought through the pain to record a fall.

Since the tournament's inception in 1970, Baltimore area teams have won 26 of the 42 crowns.

Of last year's 26 state champs, 18 were from the area compared to 16 the year before.

Old Mill has won a state record six of the last seven 3A-4A crowns, including last year's and an unprecedented five straight before being dethroned by Northern of Calvert in 1994.

Old Mill's four straight wins also were unprecedented. Aberdeen, Oakland Mills and Owings Mills each have won three.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.