Carver upsets Centennial, 73-72, to make region final 4-18 Bears to take on Dunbar for championship

Boys basketball roundup

March 01, 1996|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

.TC Nate Wingo scored 21 points, Miquel Wilson had 19 and Gabriel Brooks added 15 with nine assists as host Carver held off a late Centennial rally to upset the Eagles, 73-72, in a Class 3A East Region semifinal last night.

Carver (4-18), which will play host to No. 2 Dunbar tomorrow at 1 p.m. in the title game, led from the start and caused problems for Centennial (18-6) with its defense.

The Bears forced 20 turnovers and turned them into 21 points.

Carver led by 16 early in the fourth quarter, but Matt Laycock (30 points) led a late run that pulled the Eagles to within one.

* Poly 88, North Caroline 46: John McLean scored 26 and Owain States added 19 and 11 rebounds as host Poly (18-5) advanced to tomorrow's Class 2A East Region final against host Southern-AA at 7 p.m.

* Pikesville 73, Patapsco 59: Kenny Mitchell scored 22 points and Sam Altman added 16 as the host Panthers (23-2) won a Class 2A North Region semifinal over the Patriots (9-13) to advance to the region championship game tomorrow at Aberdeen at 2 p.m.

* Sparrows Point 75, Edgewood 69: Derrell Smith, Griffin Dingle and Pete Marshall all scored 19 to power host Sparrows Point (14-6) into the Class 1A North Region championship.

* Havre de Grace 79, Elkton 68: J.R. Clark scored 19 as host Havre de Grace (15-5) defeated Elkton to advance to the Class 1A North Region championship tomorrow at Sparrows Point at 7 p.m.

* Dundalk 68, Bel Air 38: Gyrard Jones' 19 points led host Dundalk (14-6), which advanced to the Class 3A North Region final tomorrow against visiting Randallstown at 2 p.m.

* Harbor City 72, Fairmont Harford 62: Damon Allen scored 16 to lead Harbor City (9-1) in the Walter J. Amprey League championship at Southwestern.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.