Baumgardner elected to Taneytown council New member calls self 'a chronic complainer'

February 22, 1996|By Mike Farabaugh | Mike Farabaugh,SUN STAFF

Dennis O. Baumgardner calls himself "a chronic complainer," explaining why he sought the seat he recently won on the Taneytown City Council.

Mr. Baumgardner, 49, replaces Thomas DeNike, who recently moved to Virginia.

A native of Taneytown, Mr. Baumgardner said he never tried to obtain a political office before 1983 because of his previous employment as a radio news announcer and television announcer in Baltimore. In broadcasting, he said he always had to avoid any appearance of a conflict of interest.

"I went back to school in 1983 and ran for the City Council in 1984, but lost by seven votes," he said.

"I didn't try again until this vacancy came up, and not too many were interested."

"I finished up my bachelor's [degree in communications] in 1985 [at Western Maryland College]," he said. "That's how I ended up in the computer business."

Mr. Baumgardner works as a computer consultant and software trainer. He said he is looking forward to listening to residents' opinions and wants to vote according to their wishes.

"It's political talk, I know, but I really mean it," he said. "People [today] don't like government and don't respect government."

Mr. Baumgardner cited the parallel Bay Bridge as an example of politicians not listening to the voice of the people.

"Most voters didn't want it, but they went ahead and built it anyway," he said. "I have always been a chronic complainer, so now I'm in position to do something about it."

Four other Taneytown residents had submitted their names to the City Council for consideration to fill the vacancy: contractor Paul Caparola, salesman Carl Ebaugh, bank loan originator Leslie Keidel and electrician Dee Wilson.

The council elected Mr. Baumgardner last week on the third ballot.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.