C.M. Wright sets out to beat Fallston again Notebook

February 16, 1996|By Katherine Dunn | Katherine Dunn,SUN STAFF

Fifth-ranked C. Milton Wright's 62-58 win over Fallston last Friday ended the No. 6 Cougars' 44-game winning steak against Harford County girls basketball teams.

The two teams meet again Monday at Fallston, where Nancy Ferguson's Cougars have not lost to a county team in four years. That loss also was to C. Milton Wright.

In between losses to C. Milton Wright on Jan. 22, 1993 and last Friday, the Cougars had gone 58-1 in regular-season games, falling only to Mount Hebron, 60-54, in December 1994.

Now that Fallston has moved up into their Class 3A region, the Mustangs will be out to end the Cougars' postseason run of four trips to the state tournament, including two appearances in the championship game. Gloria Leidlich's Mustangs made their first appearance in the state final four last year.

Reversal of fortune

Talk about turnarounds. Last year, Eastern Tech's girls basketball team finished 2-18. Now, the Mavericks are 18-2, the best record in school history.

Only twice before had the Mavericks posted a winning record -- in 1986 (8-7) and in 1987 (13-7). At least seven times, they did not win a game. They had lost 96 straight county games before beating Kenwood twice last year.

The schedule change certainly has helped the Mavericks because they play in the Sharpshooters Division, the county's weakest league. Still, the Mavericks are beating teams they haven't beaten in years.

One reason for the boost is freshman point guard Elisha Carter, who leads Baltimore County in scoring with a 21.8 average. Add junior guard Shanell Carter (10 points) and 5-11 sophomore forwards Jenn Betkey (12 points) and Christina Fox (six points, ,, 10 rebounds) and the Mavericks had four starters to spark the turnaround.

"This all really started last year," said Mavericks coach Dave Scrivener. "Even though we only won two games, all the games were close. We saw the improvement coming. We started those freshmen and they've improved more than we could ever believe. Last year, we had two girls score just over 100 points. This year, we're going to have several score well into the hundreds."

Grand performance

Patterson's Anita Hyman scored her 1,000th career point last month and became the school's all-time leading scorer -- male or female. The junior guard hit the milestone in a 64-28 win over Dunbar.

Her career total now stands at 1,135 points and she averages 17.6 points, 9.5 rebounds and 5.2 steals a game. She also set a school record for steals in a game with 14 last Friday against Northern.

The best of the best

Two of the heroes in Tuesday night's AIS All-Star basketball game were Bryn Mawr's Emily Hickman and McDonogh's Vicki Brick.

Hickman's three-point play with 1:30 to go turned out to be the game-winner as the Millard league edged the Brown, 59-58. The senior forward's nine points and six rebounds were second on her team only to Severn's Kate Graw, who had 14 points and 12 rebounds.

Millard led most of the game, but Brick (14 points, five steals) sparked a late Brown rally. Her layup from NDP's Megan Hyle capped a six-point Brown run to tie at 54.

Friends' Kirsten Campbell answered with a long jumper and Hickman added her three-point play for a 59-54 lead.

Hyle then fed St. Timothy's Greta Miller with 16 seconds to go and Brick stole the ball under her own basket to feed Hyle and pull within one. But by then only three seconds remained.

Championship Wednesday

To give teams additional time to make up snowed-out games, Baltimore County athletics officials have switched the county basketball championships from tomorrow to Wednesday.

Three cheers

C. Milton Wright's varsity cheerleaders won the High School Cheerleading Classic Sunday at the University of Maryland. The Mustangs advance to the regional competition in Williamsburg, Va. in March.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.