Woman's club monthly meeting to focus on trees


February 12, 1996|By Rosalie Falter | Rosalie Falter,SPECIAL TO THE SUN

THE WOMAN'S CLUB of Linthicum Heights' monthly meeting is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. tomorrow at the club house, 110 N. Hammonds Ferry Road.

Walter S. Orlinsky, executive director of TREE-MENDOUS MARYLAND, will be the speaker. Mr. Orlinsky, former president of the Baltimore City Council, will explain this innovative program developed for the Maryland Department of Natural Resources. He also will explain how partnerships are formed to raise funds to plant trees in Maryland.

The Community Health and Volunteer Services Committee will be host for a luncheon after the meeting. Reservations are required.

Tickets will be available for the annual prayer breakfast set for March 13 at Linthicum Heights United Methodist Church. Tickets must be purchased in advance. The speaker will be the Rev. Joel Settembrini.

For information, call Marge Holmes at 859-5939.

Improvement group to meet

The Linthicum-Shipley Improvement Association's monthly meeting will be at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday in the Linthicum Elementary School band room.

Candidates for the 3rd Congressional District seat have been invited. They are Democrats Benjamin L. Cardin of Pikesville in Baltimore County, the incumbent, and Dan Heiger of Baltimore City, and Republicans Patrick L. McDonough and Joseph Cilipote of Baltimore County, and Carroll Myers of Linthicum.

The District 32 delegation -- Sen. C. Edward Middlebrooks and Dels. James E. Rzepkowski and Michael W. Burns, all Republicans, and Democrat Mary Ann Love have been invited.

Attend this meeting to learn more about taxes, budgets, government shutdowns, legalized gambling, light rail, crime and gun control, football stadiums, health, Medicaid reform, Social Security, snow removal and Bosnia.

For information, call Gerald Starr at 859-8026.

Democratic Club to meet

The District 32 Democratic Club will meet Thursday at the Ferndale Volunteer Fire Department. Dinner will be served at 7 p.m. at a cost of $4. The meeting will begin at 8 p.m.

Democratic candidates running in the March 5 primary for the 1st Congressional District and the four judges of the Circuit Court of Anne Arundel County running for re-election have been invited to attend.

Officers and directors for 1996 will be sworn in. They are: Thomas Dixon, president; Valerie Serio, vice president; Becky Baker, secretary; Joan Dankewicz, treasurer and Mel Baker, sergeant-at-arms. Members of the board are Evelyn Kellner, Tyras S. "Bunk" Athey, Joseph Corcoran, Lucy Decker, Frank Rezac, Alice Sulin, Victor Sulin and Vickie Wright.

For information, call Ms. Kellner at 969-9325 or Ms. Serio at 850-0470.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.