No. 10 Arundel ups win streak to 7 matches

January 26, 1996|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

Host and No. 10 Arundel improved its winning streak to seven matches last night, sweeping No. 11 Northeast, 35-27, and North County, 36-22.

"I'm surprised we're where we are because I was disgusted at the beginning of the year," said coach Buddy Hepfer. "Six expected starters didn't come out for various reasons, and even now, five of them aren't with us.

"But the kids who are here are tough, and that includes four freshmen and two sophomores."

Northeast (7-3, 4-2) trailed, 32-24, with two bouts left, needing a decision and a pin to win. But Arundel's Ryan Markish (189 pounds) overcame a 7-4 first-period deficit to beat Tony Serio, 12-11, and Northeast's Scott Laumann (Hwt., 13-2, 12 pins) needed overtime to beat Devin Sears, 7-5.

Arundel (8-2, 7-1) had sandwiched pins by Isaac Haertel (152, 11-1) and Jeff Blachly (171) around a major decision by Northeast's Tyrone Eaton (160), who scored six takedowns.

The Wildcats won four of the first five bouts to lead, 20-6, with Northeast's only winner in that stretch being Glen Mosco (112, 12-3), who nailed his eighth fall.

Arundel's Pat Ortman (103) scored a 5-3 decision over James Fleming, teammate Casey Harrington (119) had a technical fall, and Chad Webber (125) and Adam Sayani (130) falls in 42 and 58 seconds, respectively.

Northeast won three straight to tie the match at 20-20. Chris Morrow (135, 13-0), scored 12 takedowns in a 26-11 technical fall, and No. 3-ranked Jay Queer (140, 13-0), last year's county champ, scored his 11th fall in 3:09.

Then, in a rematch of an earlier 6-5 victory, Northeast's T.R. Fleming (145, 12-2) edged Graham Harris, this time by 11-9, with his fifth takedown. Harris had turned a first-period 2-1 deficit into a 6-2 lead, but Fleming tied the bout at seven in the second period.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.