2nd candidate announces for delegate New state treasurer will vacate House seat

January 26, 1996|By Greg Tasker | Greg Tasker,SUN STAFF

Elmer Lippy, Manchester mayor and former Carroll County commissioner, said yesterday he plans to seek the House of Delegates seat held by Del. Richard N. Dixon, who was elected Maryland treasurer last week.

Mr. Lippy, 75, defeated in his re-election bid for commissioner in 1994, is the second candidate to formally announce that he wants to fill the remainder of the term.

Mr. Dixon, a four-term incumbent, has endorsed David Brauning, 58, a Finksburg insurance agent he describes as a conservative Democrat.

"I'd like to save the county, the state and my favorite town of Manchester," Mr. Lippy said. "If we can have a presidential candidate my age run, surely I can run for the office of delegate."

The State Democratic Central Committee is accepting applications through Feb. 10, said Phillip Miller, committee chairman. He said he expects the eight-member committee to select a candidate within a week after the deadline. No applications have been filed.

Ellen Leahy Willis, who ran against Mr. Dixon in 1994, has said she plans to apply for the post. She is director of business training at Carroll Community College.

Lloyd Helt, a former Sykesville mayor, said yesterday he is "thinking seriously" about running. Mr. Helt, 47, a lawyer who lives in Westminster, said he was disturbed by Mr. Dixon's choice of Mr. Brauning as a successor.

"I was prepared to go with his choice, but it's so far out in right field," he said. " We don't know anything about him."

Mr. Brauning, whose father, Horace Brauning Sr., was a county commissioner in the 1960s, said he never has sought elected office but has helped politicians such as Mr. Dixon and former Sen. Charles Smelser in campaigns. "I've been encouraged by Richard and many other Carroll County people to become involved," he said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.