Soccer association gives top honors to West, Schwoy

January 21, 1996|By Gary Davidson

PHILADELPHIA -- Centennial striker Brian West and McDonogh forward Laurie Schwoy were named National Soccer Coaches Association of America/Umbro boys and girls Maryland players of the year yesterday at the NSCAA convention.

Both players also were selected to NSCAA high school All-American teams.

Columbia's Cullen Meade, a defender for Middlebury College, was chosen to the men's collegiate Division III second team.

Greensboro College defender Brian Thierrin, also from Columbia, and Baltimore's Matt Tischman, a forward for Salisbury State, made third team.

Ellicott City's Corina Riismandel, a striker for the College of Notre Dame, was selected to the women's Division III third team.

Charles Community College striker David Hayes was chosen to the junior college men's Division I first team.

Cassidie Dunbar (South River) of Catonsville Community College made the women's junior college first team.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.