BaseballAstros: Named Alan Ashby manager of Single-A...


January 19, 1996


Astros: Named Alan Ashby manager of Single-A Kissimmee.

Athletics: Signed C Dan Walters; assigned him to Triple-A Edmonton. Named Jeffrey Leonard coach for Single-A Modesto and Curt Young pitching coach for Rookie-level Scottsdale.

Diamondbacks: Dwayne Murphy will manage Rookie-level Arizona League team.

Mets: Traded OF Aaron Ledesma to Angels for OF Kevin Flora. Assigned Flora to Triple-A Norfolk.

Rangers: Agreed to terms with P Mark Brandenburg, P Chris Curtis, P Jeff Davis, P Kerry Lacy, P Danny Patterson, P Tim Rumer, P Danny Smith and OF Terrell Lowery on one-year contracts. Agreed to terms with OF Scott Bryant on minor-league contract.

Yankees: Agreed to terms with C Jim Leyritz on two-year contract and P Andy Croghan on one-year contract.


Grizzlies: Activated F Ashraf Amaya from injured list. Placed C Rich Manning (inflamed ankle ligaments) on injured list.

Rockets: Signed F Henry James.

Suns: Gave F David Wood 10-day contract under special hardship rule.


Northern Illinois: Declared basketball G Donte Parker and F Jamal Robinson academically ineligible.


Broncos: Fired director of player personnel Bob Ferguson.

Dolphins: Tom Olivadotti, defensive coach, and Tony Nathan, running backs coach, will not return.

Jaguars: Signed free-agent DE Cornell Thomas.


Avalanche: Sent D Aaron Miller, RW Christian Matte and C Paul Brosseau to AHL Cornwall.

Blues: Sent C Alex Vasilevskii, RW Dennis Chasse and D Christer Olsson on loan to AHL Worcester.

Canadiens: Assigned C Darcy Tucker to AHL Fredericton.

Flames: Sent D Joel Bouchard on loan to AHL Saint John.

Oilers: Sent C Jason Bonsignore on loan to AHL Cape Breton.

Penguins: Reassigned C Len Barrie and LW Jeff Christian to IHL Cleveland.

Sabres: Reassigned G John Blue and LW Scott Pearson to AHL Rochester.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.