Some rules change for lacrosse wrestlers make big impressions


January 14, 1996|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,SUN STAFF

The use of NCAA rules to govern the playing of its lacrosse games and a two-minute increase in the length of quarters were among the lacrosse rule changes passed in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association's December athletic directors' meeting.

Beginning in the spring, quarters will go from 10 to 12 minutes, and the NCAA's 10-second clear rule will apply.

Under the latter rule, the offensive team has 10 seconds to move the ball beyond the midfield stripe after a goalie delivers the ball to a teammate, or once a defensive player -- who is not the keeper -- has gained possession.

The MIAA is Maryland's first high school league to implement these rules, which will be re-evaluated by league officials in June, and do not apply when a MIAA program is playing a public school.

Hannah successful

Salisbury State's Marc Hanna, an outside linebacker and two-year captain from Poly, was named to the 1995 first-team AFCA DIV III/NAIAA All-American squad.

Trudil makes mark

McDonogh transfer Dave Trudil (135 pounds) has made an impression as a wrestler at Blair Academy of Blairstown, N.J.

Trudil, a senior, has made the starting lineup on a team that is ranked No. 1 in the nation by Bob Sherrill, whose ratings are published in USA Today.

Lissau impresses

Mount St. Joseph's No. 3-ranked Jake Lissau (135 pounds, 17-2) won the title at the PowerAde Trinity Christmas wrestling Tournament on two decisions and an overtime title-bout win, and No. 1 Tyran Dungee (160) -- who had three pins and a technical fall -- was third, losing his semifinal, 5-3, to an Ohio state champ.

The Riley express

Loyola 140-pounder wrestler Dave Riley has pins in 15 of 19 victories -- 12 in the first period. Among Riley's wins is a come-from-behind flattening of C. Mitlon Wright's region champ Dave Schmidt, who is also a two-time Harford County champ, as Riley won his second straight Arundel Tournament title.

A few days after beating Schmidt, Riley moved up to 145 for a 3-2 upset of then-No. 4 ranked and previously unbeaten Sal Aquia (13-1) of Curley. A runner-up in the Maryland Catholic Invitational at Curley, Riley also has won the Fallston Tournament. His only loss came by 9-7 to Mount St. Joseph's fifth-ranked Danny Mattson.

All-State football

Dunbar linebacker and The Baltimore Sun's two-time All-Metro Defensive Player of the Year Tommy Polley, also Gatorade's Player of the Year for Maryland, was for the second straight year selected Maryland's Consensus Defensive Player of the Year by the Associated Press.

Polley, who led the Poets to their second straight state title, 30-28, over Churchill of Montgomery County, is joined by teammates Deon Johnson (offensive line) and Dwayne Green (defensive line) on the consensus team.

Other All-Metros from the Baltimore City/County area on the team are Kenwood's Steve Kelley (running back), C. Milton Wright's Duane Fisher (wide receiver), Mount St. Joseph's Da'Vaughn Mellerson (defensive line), Patterson's Rahim Booth (linebacker) and Loyola's Ryan Burch (linebacker).

Area All-Metros on the team include Atholton's Marcus Boykins Jr. (offensive line), Oakland Mills' Irving Conwell (defensive back), Meade's Damion Moss (defensive back) and Hammond's Tim Spruill (defensive back). Meade coach Jerry Hartman was chosen Coach of the Year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.