Last farmer is replaced on Board of Zoning Appeals Commissioners' goal is to slow growth

October 15, 1995|By FROM STAFF REPORTS

In their latest attempt to slow residential growth in the southern end of the county, the Carroll County commissioners announced last week that they had appointed a new member to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Claude Rash, a farmer and longtime chairman of the appeals

board, was not reappointed.

Woodrow Raver and Karl Reichlin, both nonfarmers, will continue on the board.

TTC "We view this as another way to address the growth problem," Commissioner Richard T. Yates said.

Commissioner Donald I. Dell, a farmer, disagreed with the

decision, much as he did with the ouster of Dennis Bowman, another farmer, as planning commission chairman.

Besides Mr. Schumacher, Mr. Yates and Commissioner W. Benjamin Brown also appointed James A. Zester of Eldersburg and Ronald Hoff of Finksburg as new alternates.

The Board of Zoning Appeals is responsible for granting exceptions to the county zoning code.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.