Shaeffer captures top honor

August 06, 1995|By Nancy Noyes | Nancy Noyes,Contributing Writer

The 22nd Annual St. Mary's College Covernor's Cup Yacht Race, which began at the mouth of the Severn River off Annapolis shortly after 6 p.m. on Friday, finished yesterday morning after a 70-mile course down the Chesapeake and up into the Potomac and St. Mary's Rivers to a finish line set in front of the St. Mary's College waterfront.

Best-in-fleet honors and the Joseph Waldschmitt Memorial Trophy for a victory in the most competitive class went to David Shaeffer and his crew aboard his J/120 Zephyr 2 out of Annapolis, who topped out the 30-boat PHRF A-1 class by 50 seconds over the Annapolis-based Stoer/Zinn team aboard its Capri 37 Infringer.

A new trophy this year, the Steve Bickell Memorial for most improved performance, went to Craig Doyle of Baltimore, who with his crew sailed his Erikson 29 Chapter II to fourth in the 14-boat PHRF D class. The trophy is in memory of the veteran Annapolis sailor killed during last year's Governor's Cup when he was hit in the head by the boom.

Most of the fleet was in before dawn, with Washingtonian Jim Muldoon and the crew aboard his Santa Cruz 70 Donnybrook first to finish at 2:47 a.m. Pre-race speculation had been running high as to whether or not Steve Ettridge of Annapolis and the crew sailing his enormous Shuttleworth 50 catamaran Temporary Insanity, which turned in speeds in excess of 18 knots during recent trials, would be able to pass Donnybrook.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.