Anne Arundel Education

June 04, 1995|By Peg Adamarczyk | Peg Adamarczyk,Special to the Sun

Members of the Class of '95 from Northeast and Chesapeake high schools completed 12 years of work last week.

2 Elizabeth Sexton: Sunset Elementary PTA Award.

Chesapeake High School's senior class had its awards ceremony last Thursday in the school auditorium.

Jennifer Weedon was recognized as a semi-finalist in the National Merit Scholarships program. Receiving commended scholar accolades were: Kristina Degentesh, Jaime Jones, Jay KimmeL, Kathleen Kniess, Robert Rizer, Charles Siemer and Kathryn Wald.

Camelia Owens was recognized as a commended scholar in the National Merit Program for Outstanding Black Students.

Two students, Jaime Jones and Jennifer Weedon, were recognized as finalists in the Maryland Distinguished Scholars Program. Kathleen Kniess, Robert Rizer, Megan Schwartz and Jessica Simmons received semi-finalists awards from the Distinguished Scholars program.

State of Maryland Merit Scholar Awards for students ranked in the top five percent of the class were given to: Rebecca Adamarczyk, Jennifer Bernardi, Helen Bui, Karen Cavey, Jennifer Curran, Kristina Degentesh, Tara Howland, Kaime Jones, Jay Kimmel, Kathleen Kniess, Matthew Michalowicz, Camelia Owens, Robert Rizer, Megan Schwartz, Charles Siemer, Christopher Timmons, Olga Ulrey, Melanie Vincent, Kathryn Wald and Jennifer Weedon.

Department awards were presented to: Gregory Peters, art; Katharine Deters, business education; Elizabeth Bush, English; Jennifer Bernardi, foreign language; Christopher Timmons, math; Jessica Simmons and Robert Rizer, music; Erin Thomas and Drew Shetrone, physical education; Helen Bui, social studies; and Jennifer Bernardi, excellence in psychology.

Other state, general and local scholarships, honors and awards were presented to:

Rebecca Adamarczyk: President's Scholar UMBC; Teamsters Local 557 Award; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; East Anne Arundel Lioness Club.

Chanise Adkins: tuition scholarship, Chowan College; David W. Spann Scholarship; Pasadena Elementary PTA Scholarship.

Brian Appleby: Goucher College Achievement Award; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship.

James Billings: Ladies Auxiliary VFW Post 2462 Award.

Jennifer Buck: Virginia Tech Scholarship.

Helen Bui: Society of Women Engineers ACSEE Scholarship; Pasadena Business Association; Panhellenic Club of Annapolis Award.

Robin Caputo: MAPCS Scholarship.

Jason Castle: Maryland House of Delegates Scholarship.

Karen Cavey: Presidential Scholarship, Towson State University.

Dawn Collins: Meritorious Scholarship, Frostburg State University; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; Lake Shore Rotary Club.

Jennifer Curran: Dean's Scholarship, Eastern Nazarene College; Lake Shore Rotary "Rev. James Davis Memorial" Award.

Christopher Daywalt: Presidential Fellow, UMBC.

Kristina Degentesh: President's Scholar, UMBC.

Andrew Dziuban: Maryland Senatorial Scholarship.

Margaret Dziuban: Maryland Senatorial and House of Delegates scholarships.

Angela Ernest: Merit award, St. Mary's College.

Dawn Faber: Merit scholarship, Salem-Teikyo University.

Rebecca Foy: Lake Shore Elementary PTA Scholarship.

Eric Friesner: President's Fellow, UMBC.

Amy Harsanyi: ACE Award-Bridgewater.

Christina Horn: Presidential Scholarship, Towson State University; TAAAC scholarship; Maryland House of Delegates Scholarship.

Jaime Jones: Dean's Honor Scholarship, Vanderbilt University; AT & T Scholarship; Scholarship for Scholars-teaching; William T. Bowser Memorial Scholarship, Bodkin Elementary Scholarship; and TAAAC scholarship.

Michelle Kairis: Academic scholarship, Western Maryland College.

Jay Kimmel: Dean's scholarship, UMCP; Capital-Gazette Scholarship; Maryland Senatorial and House of Delegates scholarships; Association of Old Crows Award.

Kathleen Kniess: Academic scholarship, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy and Science.

Melody Lamplough: Moore College of Art and Design Scholarship.

Matthew Michaelowicz: Appointment, U. S. Naval Academy.

Sandra Norris: Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; Chesapeake High Sschool Athletic Boosters Scholarship; Susan Lawrence Barr Memorial/CHS Alumni 1978-79 Award; Thomas Austin McBee Memorial Scholarship.

Camelia Owens: Meyerhoff Scholar, UMBC.

Steven Peters: Merit scholarship, Frostburg State University.

Matthew Pettie: Selinger Scholarship, Loyola College.

Robert Redmond: Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; Elizabeth McLaughlin Memorial Scholarship; Inner Wheel of Lake Shore Rotary Scholarship.

Robert Rizer: Brent-Calvert Fellowship, St. Mary's College.

Niesha Russell: merit scholarship, Xavier University.

Cody St. John: Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; Ladies Auxiliary VFW Post 2462 Scholarship.

Bernard Schultz: Tuition award, UMCP; Maryland Senatorial and House of Delegates scholarships.

Megan Schwartz: Jacobsville Elementary PTA Award; East Anne Arundel Lions Club Scholarship.

Shawn Shannon: Presidential Award, Villa Julie College.

Drew Shetrone: Patricia Barnes Duckett Award; Sunset Elementary PTA Scholarship.

John Skarvelis: "It's Academic" award; Giant Food Scholarship.

Charles Siemer: President's Fellow, UMBC.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.