Sprinters make Woodlawn a title contender again COUNTY TRACK PREVIEW

March 26, 1995|By Jeff Seidel | Jeff Seidel,Special to The Sun

The year is different, but little else is in Baltimore County track and field.

For the public schools, Woodlawn, Perry Hall and Parkville look strong once again on the boys' side while Perry Hall, Dulaney and Woodlawn appear to be the leaders once more for the girls.

Calvert Hall again should be the top private school, and McDonogh also has lots of talent. For the girls, Mount de Sales is deep, while McDonogh boasts plenty of talent.

For the boys, defending Baltimore County champion Woodlawn will rely on a strong group of sprinters for more success. Anthony Reid, a senior who won the state title indoors at 500 meters and was an All-City/County pick, should lead coach Gerald Russell's team. Reid will run in the 100 and 400, as well as other individual events and relays.

Russell said he's looking for sprint points from junior Craig Thompson (county champion indoors at 55), as well as junior Neville Hodge and seniors Troy Thomas, Tyrone Capers, Carlton Wheeler and Micah Ramseur.

"We also feel that we should be able to win the sprint relays and also score extremely well in the other sprints," said Russell.

Perry Hall looks to score extremely well in several places. Coach Jerry Martin's group appears deep with sprinters, led by senior and All-City/County indoor pick Jim Banach.

In the distance races, seniors Shawn Kelly, Joe Leilich (both All-City/County picks) and Chris Marye will score plenty and be backed up by some strong middle and longer distance runners.

Pole vaulter Dave Russell, who won the state title indoors as an All-City/County pick, hopes to do the same outdoors after taking second last year. The senior also set a county record with his vault of 14 feet, 7 inches. Senior Jeff Newman also will help in pole vaulting.

Junior Chaz DeGallford and senior Jason Wancowicz should take care of the shot and discus. DeGallford finished third in the state in discus last spring, and Wancowicz was third in the state in the shot put this winter. Senior Jason Johnson and sophomore Jerry Meriwether will handle the jumps.

Parkville also looks strong in several spots. Two indoor state titlists -- All-City/County picks Joe Smith (junior) and Dave Keller (senior) -- lead the way for coach Don Wann, the All-City/County Boys Coach of the Year indoors.

Smith took the Class 3A championship indoors in the 1,600 and should go in several distance races. Keller captured the indoor state crown in the shot put -- and finished second in the state outdoors last spring in the discus.

Junior Adam Sandroni should help with the shot put and discus. Classmate Larry Wilson will contribute in the hurdles and jumps, and senior Darnell Watkins should spark the sprints.

Calvert Hall should use its strong pack of distance runners to lead the way in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association. MIAA cross country champion Cory Smith (junior), plus senior Jonathan Dietrich and junior Doug Stewart, form a powerful distance trio.

Coach Mary Bondyra said she'll also get middle-distance help from junior Tim Myers. Senior Dave McGill, an MIAA champion last spring in the 110 and 300 hurdles, anchors the sprinters along with juniors Ryan Hartley and Andrew Lessner.

Distance also should help the McDonogh boys. Junior Anders Fristedt and senior Eric Bind have done well in cross country and track and should pace the distance runners.

Seniors Sean Sullivan and Vance Row (shot put) look to score plenty of points in field events. Sullivan is a good all-around athlete who could win four events on a good day for coach Jeff Sanborn.

For the girls, defending county champion Perry Hall and Krissy Jost should lead the way. Jost, the All-City/County Indoor Performer of the Year, won the 1,600 and 3,200 this winter. She also set a state record in the 1,600 with a time of 5:01.9.

Distance will be a Gator strong point, as Megan Makowski and Heather Edwards should complement Jost. Makowski, a senior who should run the 1,600 and 3,200, struggled with injuries indoors but is back to 100 percent. Junior Edwards can do relays and distance.

Seniors Jill Heckendorf and Kelly Williamson could score points fTC the 400 and 800. Coach Marilyn Bevans also should benefit from All-City/County pick Joanna Helm, a junior who can compete in a variety of hurdles, field and distance events.

Sophomore Alisha McClinton (sprints and long jump), junior Dottie Hudson (sprints and jumps), senior Leslie Hubbell (sprints) and sophomores Stephanie Wheeler and Natalie Gassman (both in field events) should help.

Coach Carol Wenderoth has plenty of talent at Dulaney. All-City/County indoor pick Meghan White (sophomore) and junior Suzanne Sclafani will lead the distance crew.

The Lions should find help from All-City/County pick Christina Chillemi (senior, field events and jumps) and her sister, Caren Chillemi (freshman, sprints).

Sprinters are going to be Woodlawn's big plus. Coach Dave Schriner's team looks for points from senior sprinters and hurdlers Sheraie Darby (second in state last year in 300 IH), Treesa Boyce and Ericka Brice plus freshman Alana Johnson.

The girls private schools have no conference competition, but Mount de Sales and coach Sean Moran look to use a strong distance squad -- led by seniors Teresa Love, Renee Leach and Liz Williams, junior Bridget Quenzer and freshman Jen Aversa -- for lots of success. Junior Michele Brown and freshman Rose Jose will anchor the sprinters, and junior Jennifer Blair should do the same in the shot and discus.

For McDonogh, points should come from several directions. Seniors Shannon Bridgham (shot put, discus), Melissa Seigman (distance), Kara Cristaldi (distance) and Rhama Kenya (distance) should score a lot.

Coach Bob Seigman also looks for points from juniors Julie Baker and Kristen Ward, both of whom do well in hurdles and jumps.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.