St. Philip Neri spellers win 1st place


March 13, 1995|By ROSALIE M. FALTER

St. Philip Neri Elementary School students performed very well at the 1995 Spelling Bee Competition the Knights of Columbus Holy Trinity Council 3413 sponsored March 5 at the Columbian Center in Severna Park.

In the fourth-grade category, Theresa Schultz won first place, Robert Chapleski won second place and Natalie Clevinger was the alternate. Stephanie Bryl won third place among fifth-graders, while Jessica Saunders filled in for Brian Airey, who was ill.

Jack Holthaus and Brooke Sterrett participated in the sixth-grade competition in which Mary Scott was the alternate. Christopher Whittmann took first place among seventh-graders. Angela Bryl also participated and Matthew Sturgill served as the alternate. In the eighth-grade competition, Edward Schultheis took second place. Susan Watson also participated. Katherine Pacheco served as alternate.

St. Philip Neri also won first-place overall, taking home the large trophy to hold until next year's competition. A school gets to keep the trophy if it wins the competition three years in a row. St. Rose of Lima, St. John the Evangelist, St. Jane Frances and St. Mary's also participated in the spelling bee.


St. Philip Neri Home-School Association will meet at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday in the school hall to review activities. The used-uniform exchange will be open for a half-hour prior to the meeting.

Students in grades four through seven will give a musical tribute to St. Patrick's Day. They will be directed by Phil Esserwein, the music teacher.

For information, please call Bob Newcomer at 859-1056.

The Home-School Association also will be distributing order

forms for the Market Day fund raiser. The forms must be returned by March 21. Merchandise can be picked up in the school lobby between 5 p.m. and 6 p.m. April 4.

For more information or an order form, call Cindy Showalter at 768-1365.


Bring your lucky leprechaun and wear your green to Burger King Night 5 p.m. to 8 p.m. Wednesday at the restaurant on Nursery Road. Linthicum Elementary School's second-graders will be celebrating St. Patrick's Day. "No homework" passes will be given to all Linthicum Elementary students who attend.

The Market Day committee is having an "Apple Pie Push" for its next sale. For each pie ordered, $1.30 will go toward school supplies. Order sheets will be distributed Wednesday and must be returned by March 24.

The Science Fair is taking place this week. All projects are due in school today. The fair will be open to visitors during school hours tomorrow, Wednesday and Thursday. There will be an awards assembly for grades three to six at 2 p.m. Friday.

First-, second- and third-place awards will be presented for individual projects in grades three, four, five and six. There also will be a grand prize winner for third

and fourth grades and for fifth and sixth grades. These winners will represent the school at the countywide science fair later this year. This year's fair also features first-, second- and third-place team winners for grades three, four, five and six as well as a team grand prize winner. Students in kindergarten, first and second grades are not judged, but will receive ribbons for participating.


A traditional Irish dinner of corned beef and cabbage will be served at the District 32 Democratic Club meeting 7 p.m. Thursday at the Ferndale Volunteer Fire Department.

Dinner will be served at 7 p.m. The meeting starts at 8 p.m. The guest speaker will be County Councilman James "Ed" DeGrange.

Guests and prospective members are welcome. For more information, call Evelyn Kellner at 969-9325 or Valerie Serio at 850-0470.


The Lightning are the new Linthicum Ferndale Youth Athletic Association basketball champs in the Pinto division. The undefeated Lightning won the LFYAA Pinto double elimination tournament by defeating the Hornets 16-7, the Bombers 11-10, the Sonics 12-9, and the Shooters 19-11.

During the tournament, Keith Kirby scored 19 points to lead the team. Craig Brocious scored 14, Brandon Schwarzenberg scored 12, Kenny Kelly scored 10, Kim Proctor and Steve Smith each scored one. Defensively, Alex Hrybyk was the team's defensive stopper, averaging five steals per game. Lee Schwarzenberg was head coach and was assisted by Ron Brocious.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.