Carolina wins 4th straight ACC title

March 05, 1995|By From Staff Reports

North Carolina captured its fourth consecutive Atlantic Coast Conference wrestling championship yesterday at Cole Field House in College Park.

The Tar Heels scored 90 points to outdistance Virginia (64), Maryland (59 1/2 ) and North Carolina State (56 1/2 ).

Five Tar Heels won individual weight class championships and two others placed second. All seven qualified for the NCAA championships at Iowa on March 16-18.

T. J. Jaworsky of North Carolina was named the tournament's outstanding wrestler after defeating Ryan Nunamaker of N.C. State with a technical fall in 6:40 to win the 134-pound title.

In the 177-pound match, Gage Short of North Carolina upset Maryland's Marc Papa, 8-6. In another upset, Maryland's Pat Flynn defeated defending champion Marc Taylor of North Carolina in the 150-pound title match.

* Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association Championships: Lehigh University, with three individual champions, took home the team title at Alumni Hall in Annapolis.

The Engineers, who won their 27th title outright and their first since 1988, totaled 124 points. Syracuse was second with 115.5 points, and Navy was third with 100.

The Midshipmen had a pair of champions in Dan Hicks (heavyweight) and Doug Zembiec (177).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.