NPSL levies fines on 14 from Spirit, 15 from Dynamo

January 26, 1995|By Doug Brown

The National Professional Soccer League has fined 14 Spirit members and 15 from the Dayton Dynamo for their participation in a third-quarter altercation Sunday in Dayton.

The Spirit's Franklin McIntosh and the Dynamo's Jeff De Vettori are also suspended for one game, but contrary to earlier reports, Spirit defender Lance Johnson and Dayton's Chris Pfau will not be suspended. The league ruled their roles were not as serious as previously indicated.

The amounts of the fines were not disclosed, but there has been a minimum fine of $75 in the past. Spirit members fined were: McIntosh, Johnson, Rick Bush, Jon Parry, Kevin Sloan, Mike Stankovic, Omid Namazi, Chris Morgan, Jamie Christie, Brad Smith, Barry Stitz, Jason Dieter, Derrick Marcano and coach Dave MacWilliams. Dayton coach Terry Nicholl also was fined, but he was fired Tuesday. The team named Tony Bono acting coach.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.