Sparrows Point proves worth with five champs

January 22, 1995|By Lem Satterfield | Lem Satterfield,Sun Staff Writer

The Sparrows Point wrestlers walked proudly around Overlea's gymnasium yesterday, sporting warm-up shirts that read: " '95, The Year of the Comeback."

And the Pointers, whose program nearly perished because a lack of participation before coach Jim Pfeiffer took over four years ago, had five champs -- Tommy Free (103 pounds), Gary Maynor (112), Mike Young (119), Gary Mryncza (125) and Russell Drake (140) -- at the Overlea Invitational.

As Pfeiffer watched Free, Maynor and Mryncza improve to 18-0, Young to 15-0, and Drake to 16-3, his only regret was that no team points were kept over the 14-team field.

Drake pinned two of three opponents, having to overcome a 7-0 deficit before stopping Franklin's Brian Rudo in 2:57.

Free, a 1A-2A state runner-up as a freshman last season, pinned two opponents before winning a title-bout battle of regional champs on an injury default over Franklin's Avi Meier.

Maynor, third at last year's tournament, scored two pins and a 16-1 technical fall. Mryncza's third pin of the tournament in his title bout came in 2:45 over Woodlawn's Damon Dennis (18-4, 11 pins).

Young, a sophomore, won the crown for the second straight season and Outstanding Wrestler honors among lightweights. He pinned all three opponents -- the last, Franklin's Son Nguyen, in just 1:47 after leading, 8-0.

Milford Mill sophomore Greg Forbes (189) was Outstanding Wrestler among the upper-weights, beating defending Harford County champ Tom Staub (North Harford) by 7-2 in the semifinals, and defending Baltimore County champ Roy Collins (18-2, 13 pins) by 5-3 in overtime. Collins of Hereford won last year.

"The past two years at Milford Mill we've been underdogs. I wanted to show we have some talent," said Forbes (11 pins), whose win was his second over Collins, last year's third-place 1A-2A state finisher. "I don't like losing and I wanted to improve my record."

For the award, Forbes edged Hereford's Matt Warner (Hwt), who improved to 19-0 with his 14th, 15th and 16th pins.

Another repeat champion was Dulaney's top-ranked 3A-4A state runner-up Alex Leanos (130). Leanos (13 pins) had a pin, a technical fall and a decision to improve to 20-0. North Harford's Paul Konchak (171, 16-0), who has 10 pins, also won for the second straight year, pinning twice with a decision.

Woodlawn's county champ Mykol Thomas (152) required an overtime takedown to win his second crown, 7-5, over Dulaney's Scott Kopalchick.

Franklin's Chris Termotto (160) and North Harford's Jayson Eicholtz had one of the better title bouts. After pinning two opponents in less than a minute combined, Termotto, the second seed, edged Eicholtz, 13-9.

"A lot of coaches put me down at the seeding meeting, saying I couldn't win this," said Termotto, who was nearly pinned in the second period.

C. Milton Wright's Dave Schmidt (145) used two pins and a decision to win his title.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.