McKinney's 26 points lift UMES to 74-69 win STATE MEN

January 08, 1995|By From Staff Reports

Aaron McKinney scored 26 points and UMES connected on five free throws in the final 18 seconds to defeat host Florida A&M, 74-69, in a Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference game last night.

McKinney scored five of the final seven points for UMES (6-6, 2-0).

Florida A&M (3-8, 0-1) was led by Ricky Davis' 27 points.

* Frostburg State 72, Chowan 50: Kelvin Clayton scored 19 points and had 12 rebounds to earn Most Valuable Player honors as host Frostburg State (7-3) defeated Chowan in the championship game of Stangel's Invitational.

Damon Stevenson scored 16 and had three assists for Frostburg, and Rodney Jeffries had 14 points and 11 rebounds.

* Albright 93, Salisbury State 84: Mahlon Hayes scored 27 points to lead Albright to an overtime win in the championship of the Albright Invitational. Kyle Jefferson (Hammond) had game highs of 36 points and 12 rebounds for the Sea Gulls (5-7).

* Elmira 109, Western Maryland 87: Dennis Reed scored 18 points for host Elmira. Daveiid St. Rose led the Green Terror with 21 points and Jeff Daniels had 18.

* Chicago 80, Johns Hopkins 75: Freshman Alexi Giannoulias led visiting Chicago with 17 points in its victory over Johns Hopkins in a University Athletic Association game. Greg Roehrig led four Hopkins players in double figures with 21 points and had 13 rebounds.

Hopkins led 46-42 early in the second half, but a 33-23 run gave Chicago a 75-69 lead with 2:31 left.

* Essex CC 102, Montgomery-Germantown 89, OT: Walter Wright scored 27 points as Essex Community College (11-3) topped visiting Montgomery College-Germantown (7-8).

* Baltimore CCC 86, Anne Arundel CC 72: Che Johnson, Warren Wright and Dana McCullough each scored 22 points as host Baltimore City Community College (8-2) defeated Anne Arundel Community College (3-8).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.