Bays put end to Atlanta's 39-game streak

November 20, 1994|By Bill Free | Bill Free,Sun Staff Writer

The Atlanta Magic's 39-game winning streak is over.

The Baltimore Bays pulled off a stunning 8-6 victory over the Magic last night in a United States Interregional Soccer League game at Du Burns Arena.

It was easily the biggest win in the brief history of the Bays.

Baltimore (2-1) scored what proved to be the winning goal with 6 minutes, 59 seconds left when Dan Santoro tapped in a shot off a pass from Billy Ronson.

Santoro's goal gave the Bays a 7-6 lead, and Carsten Siersback ran the advantage to 8-6 on a goal with 2:04 remaining in the game.

Ronson also assisted on Siersback's goal, his second.

Mark Mettrick also had two goals, and Joe Layfield and Bill Harte each had one for the winners. Baltimore goalkeeper Dave Tenney had 17 saves.

The Magic tied the game at 6 with 1:05 left in the third quarter on a shootout goal by Steve Muccillo.

The Bays out-hustled Atlanta in the first half and built a 4-3 lead at halftime.

In the game's opening minutes, the Bays seemed serious about ending Atlanta's streak.

John Stroud and Ronson took high-percentage shots but couldn't get the ball past a diving Atlanta goalkeeper Mike Potier.

Baltimore continued to fire away at the net for the next eight minutes without success, and the home team was also rolling up some fouls.

At 11:34 of the first quarter, the Bays were hit with their sixth foul of the quarter, resulting in a shootout for the Magic.

Chris Hallenkamp scored on the shootout, beating Bays goalkeeper Tenney at the near post for a 1-0 lead.

Atlanta ran its lead to 2-0 at 14:26 of the first quarter when Jimmy Weekly nudged a rebound of a Brian Moore shot into the net after Tenney had made a nice save.

However, the Bays came right back 26 seconds later with a goal by Mettrick to reduce the margin to 2-1 with eight seconds left in

the quarter.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.