Notre Dame Prep, in fourth year, wins AIS title

November 02, 1994|By Steven Kivinski | Steven Kivinski,Contributing Writer

Notre Dame Prep showed just how far a program could come in four years as it held off league nemesis Mount de Sales and captured the team title at yesterday's Association of Independent Schools Cross Country Championships at St. Timothy's School in Stevenson.

"We started this team from scratch four years ago, and I can still remember going 0-10 and finishing in last place," said NDP coach Ed Donnellan. "But we promoted the sport, made it visible to the students and now we've won a championship.

"I never thought we would win it this soon, but we have a lot of depth and the girls ran in a nice tight pack today."

The Pirates placed seven of their runners in the top 20. However, none of them threatened to defeat McDonogh sophomore Jenny Scott.

Scott defended her AIS individual championship and kept alive her hopes of winning four straight titles by covering the 2.5-mile course in a record time of 16 minutes, 24 seconds.

"At first, I thought they were going to postpone the meet because of the storm, and I was hoping they would because I knew the course would be wet and I was really hoping to beat my time from last year," said Scott, who won the event as a freshman in 16:34. "As it turns out, I'm glad they didn't postpone it because the course was in good shape and I felt great."

Scott, a 5-foot-4, 105-pounder, led by 27 seconds at the midway point and never looked back.

Kelly Sloan of Roland Park was the runner-up in 17:04, followed by Garrison Forest's Anna Goetze in third in 17:08 and Teresa Love of defending meet champion Mount de Sales (17:09).

"I told Jen before the race that she has a unique opportunity that very few people will have and that's to win the title four years in a row," said McDonogh coach Andy Gill. "But to do that, she had to win today. She was feeling a little pressure, but we told her that if she thinks there was some pressure today, just wait to see what it's like her senior year."

Carrie Kroll was Notre Dame Prep's highest finisher, as she took fifth in 17:13. Freshmen Katie Baird and Heather Ward finished 10th and 11th, respectively, for the Pirates and teammates Robin Brand, Meredith Brand and Nora Bambrick finished 14-15-16, respectively. Rounding out NDP's champion squad was top 20 finisher Kristen Kavanagh.

Liz Williams helped Mount de Sales finish second with a sixth-place finish, and Mariane Edwards helped Bryn Mawr take fourth by placing seventh. Goetze and Megan Hankins' eighth-place finish led Garrison Forest to fifth.

"We've been waiting for this for a long time because we've never beaten Mount de Sales," said Donnellan, whose team lost to the Sailors during the regular season, 28-30. NDP finished the season 9-1, and Mount de Sales won the regular-season crown (( with a 10-0 mark.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.