Lockheed Martin Corp. names vice presidents

October 24, 1994|By Ted Shelsby | Ted Shelsby,Sun Staff Writer

Martin Marietta Corp. and Lockheed Corp. announced the second tier of corporate staff appointments as a result of the proposed merger of the two giant defense contractors.

Included among the 21 vice president who will fill the top posts in the new Lockheed Martin Corp. is William F. Ballhaus Jr., who headed Martin Marietta's Aero & Naval Systems Division in Middle River as recently as two months ago.

Mr. Ballhaus, who has been recognized as one of the nation's top aeronautical engineers, will serve as vice president of science and engineering at Lockheed Martin's headquarters in Bethesda.

In late August, Mr. Ballhaus joined Martin Marietta's corporate staff as vice president for strategic planning.

His job was to help the Electronics Group with its long-term strategy in adjusting to a declining Pentagon budget. He was named president of the Middle River operations in April 1993.

Phillip S. Giaramita, vice president of public affairs for Martin Marietta, said the top echelon executive changes are subject to government approval of a merger that would form the nation's largest defense contractor.

Lockheed Martin would have 170,000 employees, annual sales of $23.5 billion and be involved in weapons programs ranging from fighter planes to Titan rockets to electronic warfare equipment.

At the time of the merger announcement in August, the companies said that Daniel M. Tellep, chairman of Lockheed, will be chairman and chief executive of the new company. Norman R. Augustine, chairman and chief executive of Martin Marietta, will be president.

They also announced that Marcus C. Bennett of Martin Marietta will be senior vice president and chief financial officer.

Mr. Giaramita said a third round of appointments that will include the corporate staff for the four divisions will be made later.

Mr. Giaramita is among those affected by the executive maneuvering. Susan M. Pearce of Lockheed is to become the vice president of communication for the merged companies.

Other vice presidents from Martin Marietta are: Peter DeMayo, David Buchanan, John E. Montague, Janet L. McGregor, Frank H. Menaker Jr., Lillian M. Trippett, Charles E. Carnahan, Michael A. Smith and Dan A. Peterson.

Other appointees from Lockheed are: William R. Sorenson, Carol R. Marshall, Robert B. Corlett, Anne Woodyard, Ronald R. Finkbiner, Robert E. Rulon, Walter E. Skowronski, William T. Vinson, John F. Egan and John F. Manuel.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.