Local pros score in national events

October 23, 1994|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,Sun Staff Writer

Mike McGinnis, head professional at Holly Hills Country Club in Ijamsville, joined Wayne DeFrancesco, teaching professional at Woodholme Country Club, in the national spotlight last week.

McGinnis survived an opening-round 9-over-par 81 to shoot 72-70-70 for 293 and a tie for 12th in the PGA Senior Club Professional championship which concluded Friday at Ibis G&CC in West Palm Beach, Fla. The low 55 scorers earned places in the 56th annual PGA Seniors championship, due April 13-16 at PGA National Resort & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

Of the four others with Middle Atlantic ties in the 74-man final round, Bobby Mitchell, Danville, Va., tied for sixth, 291; Towson native Dick Smith, a past PGA president, joined McGinnis at 293; Billy King, of Roanoke, Va., tied for 42nd at 305; and Bruce Lehnhard, Fairfax, Va., tied for 67th, 309.

Last June, McGinnis qualified for the U.S. Senior Open and played all four rounds at Pinehurst, N.C.

Earlier this month, DeFrancesco continued his outstanding run in major events. This time it was the PGA Club Professional championship, held in rainy Osage Beach, Mo., where he had rounds of 73-71-74-68286 spread over five days. That was good for a tie for fifth, two shots out of what was a three-way playoff for first place, and earned him a ticket to the 1995 PGA Championship, due for Riviera CC, in Pacific Palisades, Calif.

The Columbia resident followed that with a playoff victory in the Middle Atlantic PGA's Tournament of Champions later that week at Old South CC. Before those challenges, DeFrancesco's 1994 accomplishments included qualifying for the Kemper Open, winning the Maryland Open in a playoff at Congressional CC and playing well in a Nike event in Richmond, Va.

The TofC triumph wrapped up the MAPGA Section's Player of the Year honor, and DeFrancesco will be saluted, along with other section award winners at the organization's fall meeting on Oct. 31 at Old South CC.

National qualifiers

Three teams from Prospect Bay CC are among the six from Maryland to qualify for the American Cancer Society's national tournament, set for Friday-Saturday at Walt Disney World, in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. There will be three divisions each for men and women (low, medium, high handicappers).

Prospect Bay qualified teams in the men's and women's low handicap and men's medium handicap divisions.

The husband-wife entries of Mike and Janet Larson head their respective low handicap sides. Mike will be joined by brothers Tim and Matt Sughrue and Shane Patterson, and Janet by Becky Sun, Eleanor Warring, and Gayle Walls. This will be the fourth time the Larsons have been to the national tournament.

Janet Larson led the Prospect Bay fund-raising for the ACS, collecting some $30,000.

The other three Maryland teams going to the national tournament are out of Fort Meade (women-medium), Harbourtowne (women-high) and the Ocean City area (men-high).

"We have about 18 clubs involved, and we expect to be able to give $150,000 to the society," said Tim Horan, a volunteer, who runs the state tournament. "Last year, nationwide, with teams from every state, the program netted $15.2 million for cancer."

Competition is first at a club level, with qualifiers advancing to the state tournament.

"Right now, we are in the process of trying to get more clubs for next year," Horan said. "We're talking probably 350 players on two different days, although we would like to expand it to three days."

For further information, Horan can be reached at (410) 827-9090.

MAPGA news

The final major tournament of the season, the two-man team championship, will be held tomorrow and Tuesday at Shenandoah Valley GC in Front Royal, Va.

It was listed originally as the final event, but a postponement now has moved the first Chapter Challenge Cup matches to mid-November at the Tides Inn, in Irvington, Va.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.