AYC's Fall Series regatta sailing along


October 16, 1994|By NANCY NOYES

The second round in Annapolis Yacht Club's three-week Fall Series regatta went off under sunny skies last weekend.

The 85 smaller boats of the five cruising one-design divisions, PHRF C and MORC, completed a 7.7-mile windward-leeward course after a morning postponement on Saturday.

On Sunday the six grand-prix IMS 1 contestants completed a 16.85-mile course while the remaining 82 big boats of the three IMS splits, the three PHRF A divisions, PHRF B and the J/35s sailed 12.35 miles.

So far, the only perfect record was turned in by the weekend's biggest corrected time winner, John White of Severna Park and the crew on his unnamed DB-2, sailing in PHRF B on Sundays. Turning in a time more than 6 1/2 minutes better than his next-closest rival, White added another bullet to his previous week's first-place finish.

At the opposite end of the spectrum in terms of closeness of competition were the top MORC contenders in Saturday's fleet. Only 54 seconds in corrected time separated the first finisher, the Lipshinn Syndicate's The Fish, from the fifth, with the second- and third-place finishers Barry Moss' Fast Company and Bob Dunning's Skylarkn, respectively, having the same corrected time, 28 seconds behind The Fish.

AYC Fall Series

Provisional results, Race 2

Saturday, Oct. 8

Alberg 30 (4 starters): 1. Lingin, Bruce Rankin; 2. Sundance, Nye/Evans Syndicate; 3. Second-2-Nun, Harry Gamber.

Cal 25 (6 starters): 1. Chicken Little, Charlie Husar; 2. CL2, Gary Swanhart; 3. Alice May, Matt Mayfield.

J/30 (15 starters, protests pending): 1. Jaguar, Al Schreitmueller; 2. Turbo Duck, Bodo von der Wense; 3. Vivacious, Bill and Terri Munz.

J/24 (31 starters): 1. Sailin' Shoes, Scott Leonard; 2. Dream Girl, Russ Potee; 3. Bonz, David Eggleston.

Pearson 30 (7 starters): 1. Knotbobs, Daniel Miller; 2. Andiamo, Edgar Paglee; 3. 02Juliett, John Jankus.

MORC (12 starters): 1. The Fish, Lipshinn Syndicate, 1:40:01 c.t.; 2. Fast Company, Barry Moss, 1:40:29 c.t.; 3. Skylarkn, Robert Dunning, 1:40:29 c.t.

PHRF C (10 starters): 1. Cold Duck, Schoolden/Wright Syndicate, 1:41:34 c.t.; 2. Finnegan's Wake, John O'Brien, 1:43:26 c.t.; 3. Sails Call, Richard Baucom, 1:44:12 c.t.

Sunday, Oct. 9

IMS 1 (6 starters): 1. Gaucho, Ian Gordon, 1:29:38 c.t.; 2. Moxie, George Collins, 1:30:38 c.t.; 3. Ramrod, Bert Jabin, 1:31:23 c.t.

IMS 2 (6 starters): 1. Fun, Tom Closs Sr./Jr., 1:12:24 c.t.; 2. Dancer, Bill Steitz, 1:12:47 c.t.; 3. Etoile, Mid. 1/C Paulson, USNA, 1:14:14 c.t.

IMS 3 (7 starters): 1. Contraire, Steve Schaub, 1:10:47 c.t.; 2. Hilite, Leonard Eastman, 1:11:18 c.t.; 3. Sugar, Brad Parker, 1:14:17 c.t.

PHRF A-0 (6 starters); 1. Quintessence, Benjamin Michaelson, 2:35:04 c.t.; 2. Sundog, Paul and Kathy Parks, 2:36:04 c.t.; 3. Tolerance, St. Mary's College, 2:37:16 c.t.

PHRF A-1 (18 starters): 1. Promises, St. Mary's College, 1:52:33 c.t.; 2. WOFTAM, James Michie, 1:54:14 c.t.; 3. Yellow Jacket, BS&W Syndicate, 1:54:19 c.t.

PHRF A-2 (23 starters): 1. Twin Spirit, Ron Steele, 1:52:28 c.t.; 2. Taboo, M. Scarborough, 1:52:54 c.t.; 3. Run Against the Wind, J. Pulvermann, 1:53:24 c.t.

PHRF B (10 starters): 1. (no name), John White, 1:51:01 c.t.; 2. Vivacious, Bill and Terri Munz, 1:57:39 c.t.; 3. Fast Forward, Al Graf, 1:58:18 c.t.

J/35 (12 starters, protests pending): 1. Grayling, Richard Born; 2. Three Cheers, Krolak/Siemers Syndicate; 3. Medicine Man, Charles Kohlerman.

Severn Sailing Assoc. Oyster Roast

Thistle (30 starters): 1. Brent Barbehenn, 11.5 (6-1-1-2-2); 2. John Wallace, 19.5 (4-12-2-1-1); 3. Charles Krafft, 26.75 (1-3-13-5-5); 4. Don Moore, 29 (2-9-5-9-4); 5. Lincoln Baxter, 35 (13-8-8-3-3).

International 14 (13 starters): 1. R. Ewart Smith, 7.25 (2-1-1-3-1); 2. Lou Phillips, 9.75 (1-2-3-2-2); 3. Peter Hayward, 11.75


McMillan Cup coming

The McMillan Cup Regatta, the oldest collegiate sailing event in the U.S., will be put on at the Naval Academy, Friday through Sunday. Sanctioned by the Middle Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association and the Intercollegiate Yacht Racing Association, this year's event will be sailed in Navy 44 sloops.

Massachusetts Maritime Academy will be defending its '93 title against teams from Maine Maritime Academy, Connecticut College, Boston College, the University of Rhode Island, Cornell, Kings Point, New York Maritime and the University of Rochester. The Navy team will be headed by Mid. 1/c Eric Thiel.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.