Forums set for school board, trustees hopefuls

October 09, 1994

Two candidates' forums are scheduled this week for vacant seats on the Board of Education and the Harford Community College Board of Trustees.

The question-and-answer sessions will be held at 7 p.m. Tuesday for the two trustees openings and 7 p.m. Thursday for the school board vacancy.

Both forums will be at Southampton Middle School on Moores Mill Road. They are sponsored by the Harford County Permanent Nominating Caucus and are open to the public.

A voting convention will be held Oct. 27 for caucus delegates to determine their choices. The caucus will send the top two names for each seat to Gov. William Donald Schaefer, who will make the appointments.

The nonpartisan caucus is made up of members from PTAs, churches and other civic groups. Two delegates or two alternates from each member organization will be allowed to ask the candidates questions.

There are 17 applicants for the trustees seats. They are Joe A. Swisher and Pat W. Tanner of Aberdeen; Paula Hankel, Ralph Jordan and William J. Smith of Abingdon; Jerry F. Graham, Margaret S. Lucas, Kevin Mahoney, C. J. Murphy, Joyce A. Oliver and Joseph R. Piazza of Bel Air; Betty Reeves of Churchville; Dale R. Bowlus Jr. of Darlington; Charles H. Jacobs Jr. and Lehman W. Spry of Havre de Grace; Keith Williams of Joppa; and M. J. McMahon of Street.

College trustees are appointed for five years.

There are two candidates for the school board seat being vacated Nov. 1 by Anne D. Sterling. They are H. Everett Smith and Geoffrey Close, both of Bel Air.

The person chosen for that seat will serve the remaining three years of Mrs. Sterling's five-year term.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.