The winners, losers and tweeners


September 21, 1994

Herewith are three lists, each incomplete, of Primary Election Winners, Losers and Tweeners.


Paul D. Muldowney, the Comeback Kid of this election. He lost his seat in the House of Delegates in 1986 after he took on two powerful lobbies in the name of economy and accountability: teachers unions and the backers of charitable gambling.

Mr. Muldowney was floor leader for a 1984 bill that capped cost of living benefits in the state pension system. The change was regarded as reneging by teachers and state employee unions. He also angered civic clubs with his call for more reporting on gambling activities.

He ran without success for several other offices after that. But now he is the Democratic nominee for Congress in Maryland's 8th Congressional District. A conservative Democrat, he faces incumbent Republican Rep. Roscoe G. Bartlett in the general election.

Larry S. Gibson: The political aide to Mayor Kurt L. Schmoke won big: Prince George's County Executive Parris N. Glendening easily won the Democratic gubernatorial nomination while Wayne Curry, a Prince George's lawyer, was nominated to replace Mr. Glendening as county executive. Mr. Gibson had a big role in the campaigns of both men.

John S. Arnick: He was re-elected to the House of Delegates after leaving his seat to take a judgeship -- only to lose that appointment amid charges he had used lewd language in conversations with lobbyists.


State Sen. Patricia S. Sher: Even as Mr. Arnick was showing that charges of chauvinism don't necessarily mean political death, Senator Sher of Montgomery County was losing her senate seat. Ms. Sher's ardent defense of Mr. Arnick didn't help. NOW endorsed her opponent.

Richard Taylor: The Unkindest Cut Award for 1994 goes to Mr. Taylor, the Republican National Committeeman who lost his bid for the state comptroller's nomination to Timothy R. Mayberry, a no-name banking consultant from Boonsboro. Few Republicans have been more loyal than Mr. Taylor and his nomination seemed assured. He believes he was punished for his close association with Rep. Helen Delich Bentley, the failed gubernatorial contender, whose negative coattails swept him to defeat.

Mrs. Bentley herself: She risked all on this game of pitch and toss -- including her seat in the Congress -- and lost the gubernatorial nomination to Del. Ellen R. Sauerbrey. Why? Known as the Fighting Lady, she'd had scraps with many elements of her party:

"Every one of these fights produces another scar, another barnacle on the hull," said her running mate, state Sen Howard A. Denis, R-Montgomery. "After a while, you've got enough barnacles to sink the ship."

Eleanor N. Carey: She failed in a second bid to be the Democratic nominee for attorney general. She may also have lost a better opportunity to be a winner. Before Mr. Glendening picked Kathleen Kennedy Townsend to run with him as a candidate for lieutenant governor, Ms. Carey was considered a prime candidate for the spot.


This award goes to losers whose performance was good enough to make them seem like winners in the long run and to winners whose primary victories may evaporate on Nov. 8, Election Day.

Timothy R. Mayberry: He now gets to run against Comptroller for the Ages Louis L. Goldstein, now seeking his 10th four-year term.

State Sen. American Joe Miedusiewski: He gets the "Where's The Rest of Me" award. A man whose aspirations for the governor's office were a secret to almost everyone until he announced his candidacy, he won acclaim for his campaign: looked good, spoke well, had some ideas.

Del. Gerry L. Brewster: He won the Democratic nomination for Congress in Baltimore County's 2nd District -- but Del. Connie Galliazzo DeJuliis almost knocked him off. The closeness of that race leaves the Democrat Brewster weakened in an increasingly Republican district.

William S. Shepard: The "No Thanks" award goes to Mr. Shepard, the 1990 GOP nominee for governor. His 40-60 showing that year sent Gov. William Donald Schaefer into a career-ending down draft in the polls.

L Mr. Shepard's party gave him a third-place finish this time.

Governor Schaefer: His least favorite candidates, Mr. Glendening and Mrs. Sauerbrey, won. Mr. Schaefer gets the "I Am A Citizen" award, though, for his high level of involvement in both primaries.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.