Meet The Roughriders

September 18, 1994|By Ken Murray

History: The team traces its roots to 1910, when the Regina Rugby Club joined the new Saskatchewan Rugby Football Union. In 1924, the team changed its name to Regina Roughriders. Then in 1946, the name of Saskatchewan Roughriders was popularly accepted, although it was not legally changed until 1950. The team has won two Grey Cups, the last in 1989.

Ownership: The Roughriders are community owned. John Lipp is in his second year as president of the eight-person executive committee. Lipp is chairman of the Regina Separate School Board and serves on a number of civic boards and committees.

Key players: Warren Jones has taken over at QB for Tom Burgess. His prime weapons are RB Mike Saunders, WR Donald Narcisse and SB Ray Elgaard, who is the CFL's all-time leading receiver. The defense is led by pass rusher Bobby Jurasin, the team's all-time leading sacker. MLB Ron Goetz is the leading tackler and Gary Lewis is a mainstay in the defensive line. PK Dave Ridgway and P Brent Matich give the Roughriders a solid kicking game.

Strengths and weaknesses: Baltimore ranks higher than Saskatchewan in most of the significant statistical categories, but the CFLs have had a softer schedule so far, too. The Roughriders are plus-10 in turnovers, and 5-0 at home, two keys to their 6-4 season. They have the league's top punter in Brent Matich (Baltimore's Josh Miller is second), and Ridgway made 90 percent of his field-goal attempts a year ago (he's at 80 percent this season).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.