Shifty winds no breeze in Cedar Point


September 18, 1994|By NANCY NOYES

The Gibson Island Yacht Squadron's Cedar Point Race, which no longer goes anywhere near Cedar Point itself, was a mixed bag of wind directions and conditions this year.

The 43 starters in eight classes headed down the bay in a relatively steady moderate southerly breeze on Saturday morning, Sept. 10, only to meet fickle breezes that died out before coming back in from northerly quarters of the compass and settling in with more than 15 knots from the northeast and lumpy seas.

Fresh from a victory in Annapolis Race Week just a few days earlier, Gibson Islander George Collins and the crew on his Mumm 36 Moxie took first-to-finish honors along with the top slot in PHRF A-0 over the 53.5-mile course from Annapolis to R '78' near Taylor's Island and back to a finish north of the Bay Bridge at Baltimore Light.

"The last two hours were a lot of fun," Collins said, referring to light and shifty breezes for much of the race between Bloody Point and the turning mark, in both directions, before the breeze arrived for the night.

"We had a pretty good start, but at Thomas Point the wind started to get light."

Despite the tricky breeze, however, Moxie managed to sail through the rest of the fleet, which had started earlier than her own class to round the turning mark first, with two J/35s hot on her heels.

"We started to go east, which was the right decision," Collins said, "but then we decided to cover the other boats in our class, so we went west, which was a mistake. But luckily we didn't go too far west. Finally we got to the breeze from the north, to northwest."

Gibson Islander Henry Morgan and his crew on Nettle turned in the best corrected time in the PHRF division, winning PHRF A-2 and the overall PHRF fleet by nearly 18 minutes over Moxie.

Cedar Point Race

PHRF A-0 (4 starters/finishers): 1. Moxie, George Collins, Gibson Island, 10:35:20 c.t.; 2. Muskrat, Nick Iliff, Arnold, 10:57:01 c.t.; 3. First Light, George Wilson, Easton, 10:59:36 c.t.

PHRF A-1 (7 starters/6 finishers): 1. Moving Violation, Samuel Owings, Annapolis, 10:35:51 c.t.; 2. Medicine Man, Charles Kohlerman, Brookhaven, Pa., 10:37:11 c.t.; 3. A.K.A. Diamond, Glenn/Williams, Baltimore, 10:45:40 c.t.

PHRF A-2 (9 starters/finishers): 1. Nettle, Henry Morgan, Gibson Island, 10:17:41 c.t.; 2. Dash, USNA, 10:29:57 c.t.; 3. Where Egos Dare, WED Syndicate, Annapolis, 10:36:20 c.t.

PHRF B (5 starters/finishers): 1. Aspire, Jack Yaissle, Allentown, Pa., 10:23:52 c.t.; 2. Torch, Paul and Willard Scott, Baltimore, 10:27:05 c.t.; 3. Long Shot, Richard Corpus, (hometown unavailable), 10:43:31 c.t.

PHRF C (3 starters/finishers): 1. Rebecca, Bill Paul, Pasadena, 10:21:58 c.t.; 2. Checkmate, R. Gibson, Annapolis, 10:34:07 c.t.; 3. Cold Duck, Schoolden/Wright, Baltimore, 10:35:40 c.t.

PHRF Nonspinnaker (5 starters/2 finishers): 1. Albar II, Allen Keiser, Towson, 10:57:42 c.t.; 2. Free Spirit, William Bizjak, (hometown unavailable), 17:04:36 c.t.

IMS (10 starters): Results not available.

Snipe North Americans

Snipe sailors from all over North America will be in Annapolis on Thursday for the North American Championships, co-sponsored by Severn Sailing Association and the Eastport Yacht Club.

Crews from Canada and Puerto Rico will join U.S. crews from California, Florida, Ohio, and other states including a healthy local contingent to compete for the championship on the Chesapeake Bay.

Among the most notable local entrants are Olympic hopeful Henry Filter and the reigning Snipe National Championship team of Doug Clark, a former Annapolitan, and Alex Stout. Other local favorites will be Brian Fishback and Lori Stout, and Roger Link and Sue Kaufman.

A highlight of the regatta will be a team racing series Saturday in and around Annapolis Harbor and Spa Creek. The team racing will consist of 12 short races of 10 to 15 minutes in length; teams will be identified by color markings, which will be visible from Annapolis City Dock. The six teams will consist of participants from the North American Championships.

Severn Sailing Association Fall I

Sept. 10

International 14 (8 starters): 1. R. Ewart Smith, Arnold, 2.25 (1-1-1); 2. Joe Hidalgo, Annapolis, 10 (3-3-4); 3. Amy Phillips, Columbia, 11 (2-6-3).

Thistle (7 starters): 1. Bill Webb, Annapolis, 7.75 (5-1-2); 2. Rosemary Foltis, Annapolis, 7.75 (4-3-1); 3. Team Don, (hometown unavailable), 8 (3-2-3).

Tempest (8 starters): 1. Edgar D. Hoyt, Annapolis, 4.5 (1-1-3); 2. C.B. Currier, 8.75, (hometown unavailable), (3-5-1); 3. Brigid O'Hara, Alexandria, Va., 12 (6-2-4).

Soling (5 entries): 1. Peter Gleitz, Annapolis, 2.25 (1-1-1); 2. Tom Carrico, Arnold, 7 (3-2-2); 3. Joe Van Gieson, Annapolis, 9 (2-3-4).

Sept. 11

Comet (4 starters): 1. Terry Jackson, Annapolis, 1.5 (1-1); 2. Ed McLean, Severna Park, 4 (2-2).

Day Sailer (10 starters): 1. Bonnie Urban, Annapolis, 2.75 (2-1); 2. Jim Urban, Annapolis, 5.75 (1-5); 3. Robert Damon, (hometown unavailable), 8 (5-3); 4. Ken Seamon, (hometown unavailable), 8 (4-4).

Laser (10 starters): 1. Ted Morgan, Annapolis, 1.5 (1-1); 2. Tim Olson, Annapolis, 4 (2-2); 3. Alden Shattuck, Annapolis, 8 (5-3); 4. John Quay, College Park, 8 (4-4).

Snipe (10 starters): 1. Roger Link, Harwood, 3.75 (3-1); 2. Bryan Fishback, Annapolis, 4 (2-2); 3. Rick Harris, (hometown unavailable), 4.75 (1-4); 4. Scott Zebny, (hometown unavailable), (5-3).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.