Familiar faces picked from crowd in Districts 30, 33 PRIMARY ELECTION RESULTS 1994

September 14, 1994|By Liz Atwood | Liz Atwood,Sun Staff Writer

Voters in Districts 30 and 33 winnowed a crowded field of candidates running for the House of Delegates, selecting incumbents and well-known county politicians.

In the only contested Senate race, Republican Mary M. Rose, 48, one-term clerk of the court, won 70 percent of the vote, easily defeating lawyer and businessman Robert J. O'Neill for the District 30 nomination.

She will face Del. John C. Astle, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary.

The seat became vacant when Sen. Gerald W. Winegrad decided not to seek re-election. District 30, which includes Annapolis, Arnold and Mayo, has 27,301 registered Democrats and 21,319 registered Republicans.

For the House of Delegates, County Councilwoman Virginia P. Clagett, 51, of West River, led the Democrats in District 30, pulling 29 percent of the vote.

Incumbent Michael E. Busch, 47, who is seeking his third term, was running second with 26 percent of the vote.

PTC In a close contest, John C. Eldridge Jr., 27, a party insider and son of Judge John C. Eldridge of the Maryland Court of Appeals, won the third slot on the ticket, defeating Stephen Carr, 40, an environmental consultant.

Mr. Eldridge received 14 percent of the vote compared with Mr. )) Carr's 13 percent.

Larry Johnson, 55, an educator and head of the Annapolis Democratic Central Committee, won 11 percent; and Charles Ross, 46, a political and communications consultant, 6 percent.

On the Republican side, incumbent Phillip D. Bissett, 38, who was seeking to return to the seat to which he was appointed in 1991, led with 30 percent of the vote.

Filling out the Republican ballot in the general election will be Joan Beck, 61, a party activist for more than 30 years, who had 28 percent of the vote, and Ralph "Rocky" Rosacker, 45, a former Marine and a project management consultant, who had 26 percent.

Michael T. Brown, 39, a former Democrat who switched parties, received 16 percent of the vote.

Eight Democrats and six Republicans competed in primaries for the District 33 House seats.

District 33, which includes Severna Park, Odenton and Crofton, has 22,933 registered Democrats and 23,014 registered Republicans.

The only incumbent, Democrat Marsha G. Perry, 57, had 26 percent of the vote. County Councilman David G. Boschert, 47, of Crownsville, who could not seek re-election because of a county term limit, had 18 percent.

For the third slot, Crofton lawyer Mike Canning, 33, received 13 percent of the vote to edge out educator Harold Counihan, 51, of Gambrills, who received 12 percent.

Patricia A. Huecker, 51, a former school board member and president, pulled 10 percent; party insider Sylvia Fielder Jennings, 58, 8 percent; educator Daniel Nataf, 40, of Severna Park, 8 percent; and Alvin Tilghman, a Severn resident, who ran for delegate in neighboring District 32 four years ago, 3 percent.

On the Republican side, Janet Greenip, 46, founder and former president of the Greater Crofton Republican Women's Club, led the ticket with 25 percent.

Filling out the slate will be David Almy, 35, a Crownsville resident who managed Robert R. Neall's campaign for county executive in 1990, and Robert Baldwin, 59, a Crownsville contractor. Each had 22 percent.

Falling short in the primary were Ingvard "Ed" Bach, 60, a Severna Park resident and owner of Sparkle & Village Cleaners, who received 13 percent; Margaret McLean, 54, a Severna Park sales and marketing manager for O'Conor Piper & Flynn, who received 10 percent; and Ronald A. Pullen, 55, a retired tax lawyer and owner of Advanced Home Oxygen and Medical Supply in Annapolis, who received 8 percent.

In District 33, Republican Sen. John A. Cade had no challengers from either party.

The Senate minority leader was the only Arundel incumbent running unopposed.

Statewide he was one of two Senate candidates without opponents.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.