Rutsch rides luck in annual AYC regatta


September 04, 1994|By NANCY NOYES

Hot sun, thick haze and southerly breezes greeted the Annapolis Yacht Club Annual Regatta fleets last weekend.

Saturday's 64-starter fleet of cruising one-design, PHRF C and MORC sailors fought their way around a 7.6-mile five-legged windward-leeward course in breezes of six or seven knots at the start, rising to 10 or more later in the race.

Sunday's 61 crews in the PHRF A and B splits and the J/35s used a similar course of 10.2 miles in a steady southerly that built from seven or eight knots at the start to 14 or 15 at the finish.

Top dog in the 20-boat J/30 class on Saturday despite a near disaster at the start was Bill Rutsch, sailing BeBop with his crew.

"We were lucky," Rutsch said. "We were over early. When we heard the race committee call our number, we gybed around and restarted. But halfway up the first leg we had already passed about 10 boats, which had gone to the right side of the course, and we were third at the first mark."

Rutsch had so much fun on the water on Saturday, he said, that he went out on Sunday as a guest spinnaker trimmer on Don and Dave Zinn's Infringer and helped that team win PHRF A-1.

Helmsman Dave Zinn said the trick to winning on Sunday was playing the western side of the course, both upwind and down, because there seemed to be more breeze along the western shore.

AYC Annual Regatta Saturday, Aug. 27

J/30 (20 starters): 1. BeBop, Bill Rutsch, Chevy Chase; 2. Turbo Duck, Bodo von der Wense, Gulph Mills, Pa.; 3. Jaguar, Alan Schreitmueller, Annapolis; 4. Better Mousetrap, Bob Putnam, Greenbelt; 5. Valhalla, Steve Bardelman, Sherwood Forest.

J/24 (10 starters): 1. Show Dog, Ben and Carrie Capuco, Annapolis; 2) More Bad News, Mike and Linda Colbert, Springfield, Va.; 3. Meltemi, Jay Herman, Annapolis.

Pearson 30 (8 starters): 1. Results, Art Libby, Annapolis; 2. Knotbobs, Dan Miller, Baltimore; 3. Severn Run, Norm Baldwin, Annapolis.

MORC (12 starters): 1. Rude Awakening, Chuck O'Malley, Annapolis, 2:04:51 c.t.; 2. Stingray, Robert Muller, Annapolis, 2:05:14 c.t.; 3. Problem Child, Brian Jones, Annapolis, 2:05:44 c.t.

PHRF C (6 starters, protests pending): 1. Critical Mass, John Lanigan, Reston, Va., 2:09:35 c.t.; 2. Blue Water, Robert Orme, Edgewater, 2:12:18 c.t.; 3. Sails Call, Rick Baucom, Davidsonville, 2:12:54 c.t.

Alberg 30 (7 starters): 1. Lingin, Bruce Rankin, Annapolis; 2. Sundance, Nye/Evans Syndicate, Annapolis; 3. Second-2-Nun, Harold Gamber, Alexandria, Va.

Cal 25 (9 starters): 1. White Cap, Tim Bloomfield, Chevy Chase; 2. Blades, Dave Wooldridge, Annapolis; 3. Jumpin' Jack Flash, Jack and John Niemczuk, Glen Burnie.

Sunday, Aug. 28

PHRF A-0 (7 starters): 1. Sundog, Paul and Kathy Parks, Shady Side, 1:48:03 c.t.; 2. Ramrod, Bert Jabin, Annapolis, 1:49:57 c.t.; 3. Predator, Steve Kaminer, Washington, 1:49:58 c.t.

J/35 (11 starters): 1. Jake, Sandy Morse, Annapolis; 2. Cheers, Tim Bowen, Bowie; 3. J-Bird, Yeigh/Evaul, Annapolis; 4. Grayling, Richard Born, Baltimore.

PHRF A-1 (10 starters): 1. Infringer, Donald Zinn, Annapolis, 1:49:49 c.t.; 2. ZEPHYR 2, D. Shaeffer, (hometown unavailable), 1:50:25 c.t.; 3. Crescendo, Steve Hiltabidle, Annapolis, 1:52:30 c.t.

PHRF A-2 (19 starters): 1. Bang, Dave Gendell, Arnold, 1:48:13 c.t.; 2. Rude Awakening, Chuck O'Malley, Annapolis, 1:49:35 c.t.; 3. Sugar Too, Brad Parker, Annapolis, 1:51:12 c.t.; 4. Mountain Lion Eater, George Prout, Grasonville, 1:51:43 c.t.; 5. Warp Speed, Neil Murphy, Falls Church, Va., 1:52:42 c.t.

PHRF B (12 starters): 1. Flying Circus, Jervis Dorton, Columbia, 1:52:27 c.t.; 2. Vivacious, Bill and Terry Munz, Annapolis, 1:53:17 c.t.; 3. Hilite, Len Eastman, Annapolis, 1:53:35 c.t.; 4. Teaser II, Steve von Christierson, Arlington, Va., 1:55:40 c.t.

Comet Internationals

The 57th annual Comet International Championship Regatta brought 30 of the nation's top sailors to the Tred Avon Yacht Club last weekend for a three-day, five-race contest in light air.

Three races were started Friday in light air, but only one boat completed, as the TAYC race committee called off both the first and third events of the day.

Things were better as the weekend progressed, and four more races

were finished before the end of competition Sunday afternoon.

Winning the event was New Jersey sailmaker Mark Beaton, a past Comet International champion, with Ohioan Mark Hess, also a past champion, in second in the 29-boat fleet.

Elliott Oldak of Annapolis, a member of the host Fleet 40 out of Severn Sailing Association, was third, despite having been away from international-level Comet competition for more than six years.

"Good starts were very important," Oldak said. "And sailing in Oxford, where I've sailed the Star so much, didn't hurt. The main thing was trying to keep the boat moving in a lot of current and light air. We spent a lot of time in the boat, being patient, being still, not moving around much."

Comet Internationals

1. Mark Beaton, Bricktown, N.J., 6.5 (1-1-[4]-2-3); 2) Mark Hess, Lorraine, Ohio, 8.5 (3-4-1-[25]-1) Elliott Oldak, Annapolis, 14 ([15]-3-2-7-2).

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.