Endorsements in District 35

August 26, 1994

There is only one primary contest in District 35 for Harford County voters, the Republican nomination for state senator. The winner will oppose three-term incumbent Democrat William H. Amoss and independent Catharine Wilson in the November general election.

The GOP candidates are Ruth E. James, chairwoman of the county Republican Central Committee, and Gwendalynne G. Corkran, who runs a criminal rehabilitation placement program.

Both women have been active in county Republican affairs and have held offices in political organizations.

Mrs. Corkran was first into the race and immediately launched an attack on Mr. Amoss for his awarding of the controversial Senate scholarship grants, claiming that he used them as political favors.

Since then, she has stressed a campaign against the spread of government and taxation. More governmental decisions should be made locally, particularly on education and growth issues, and the trend of state mandates of programs for localities should be stopped, she says.

Mrs. James, a consultant for a national insurance broker, stands for mandatory prison sentences and other tough anti-crime measures, as well as job creation programs to get people off long-term welfare.

In a direct attack on Mr. Amoss, a millionaire who's been in the legislature since 1975, she strongly advocates term limits for candidates and a strict cap on campaign spending.

Between the two, we would favor Mrs. James for her articulation of the issues and her business background. She is not related to the longtime Harford legislator William S. James, although that is also her husband's name.

The senatorial district comprises both Harford and Cecil counties. Harford elects two of the delegates in District 35A, the third in District 35B is selected by Cecil voters.

Incumbent Donald C. Fry and Joseph V. Lutz are unopposed for the Democratic nominations for delegate in District 35A.

Incumbent James M. Harkins and James F. Greenwell are likewise without opposition for the Republican nominations. Both Delegates Fry and Harkins are completing their first four-year terms.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.