New York ballet, opera to perform at Naval Academy

August 19, 1994|By Phil Greenfield | Phil Greenfield,Special to The Sun

The U.S. Naval Academy Music Department's 1994-1995 Distinguished Visitors Concert Series promises to be the most exciting in the history of Alumni Hall.

The season begins on Sept. 24 at 7:30 p.m. with a performance by the Kirov Orchestra of St. Petersburg, under the direction of Valery Gergiev. The talented Russian's career has advanced steadily since he won the Karajan Competition in Berlin at age 23 and moved to the Kirov Opera as Yuri Temirkanov's assistant.

Mr. Gergiev will conduct Wagner's Prelude to "Parsifal," Prokofiev's Fifth Piano Concerto and the wrenching Eighth Symphony of Dmitri Shostakovich. Alexander Toradze, a steel-fingered iconoclast whose music has never produced an indifferent audience reaction, will be the piano soloist for the piece by Prokofiev.

The principal dancers of the New York City Ballet will appear Oct. 28 in a salute to the great choreographer, George Balanchine.

The New York City Opera National Company will come to Annapolis on Feb. 2 to present Rossini's sparkling, fizzy, opera buffa, "The Barber of Seville."

The National Company consists of some of America's most talented up-and-coming singers who tour nationally under the auspices of the City Opera.

The season concludes on April 1 with the Naval Academy Glee Club's performance of Giuseppe Verdi's "Requiem," easily the most dramatic setting of the liturgy for the dead ever composed.

Soprano Linda Mabs, mezzo Jeanne Kelly, tenor Gene Tucker and bass Jonathon Deutsch will serve as soloists under the baton of John Barry Talley, the Naval Academy's director of musical activities. The performance is at 7:30 p.m.

For ticket subscriptions, call 268-6060. For further information, call the Naval Academy Music Department at 293-2439.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.