Endorsements in Districts 11 and 12A

August 18, 1994

One of the most closely watched, closely fought political races in Maryland this year is the District 11 primary between Democratic state senators Paula Hollinger and Janice Piccinini, two incumbents thrown together by redistricting. Both women are rugged competitors and reliably liberal.

And, they can't stand each other.

These elements have combined to make the 11th Senate primary the race to watch in Baltimore County. We urge voters to choose Paula Hollinger. She is the more substantive on major issues, such as the health care debate that Ms. Hollinger, a nurse, has helped lead in Maryland for many years. She will continue to be needed in this role. What's more, she is known as a team player in Annapolis, while Ms. Piccinini's reputation is one of strident negativity.

Richard Manski, a professor of dentistry, has no opposition in the GOP primary for Senate.

In the race for the three House of Delegates seats, we propose a clean slate of newcomers. Accountant Michael J. Finifter, physician Dan K. Morhaim and attorney Robert L. Frank are capable Democrats who should bring energy and fresh thinking to the state capital. Our choices for the Republican nominees to the House are inventor Michael Buchanan, attorney Jodi L. Hammerman and high school counselor Tyrone D. Bullock.

The new 12th district, which covers conservative southwest Baltimore County and liberal east Howard County, also has TC highly watchable Senate race. Incumbent Democrat Nancy L. Murphy of Arbutus will be challenged by ex-legislator Edward J. Kasemeyer of Columbia. Can Baltimore County stand to lose this seat to a Howard countian? Ms. Murphy isn't so indispensable. Mr. Kasemeyer would do more to look after the entire region's needs, so we support him. From among Republicans, we endorse Elkridge construction contractor David P. Maier.

The bi-county 12A district will have two delegates. In the primary, we back Democrats Kenneth H. Masters of Catonsville, an incumbent and the House majority leader, along with Arbutus firefighter James E. Malone Jr.; also, Catonsville Republicans Dennis Lanahan, an electrical engineer, and MCI manager Donald Drehoff.

Tomorrow: Legislative District 10.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.