Endorsing in Districts 6 and 7

August 15, 1994

Voters in Legislative Districts 6 and 7 on Baltimore County's east side certainly can't complain about having too few candidates to choose from. In the two districts, a total of 39

contenders are jostling for state Senate and House of Delegates seats.

Democratic incumbent Michael J. Collins is challenged in the District 6 Senate race by retired Orphans' Court judge Alexander B. Page Jr. We believe Mr. Collins, a fairly reliable legislator, is the better choice. Given the four Republicans aiming for the Senate, The Sun's selection is Alfred E. Clasing Jr., who has served on the county's Planning Board and in numerous civic organizations.

From among the Democrats in the hunt for House seats, we back incumbents E. Farrell Maddox and Michael H. Weir, as well as Diane DeCarlo, a regular of area politics who finished fourth in the past two primaries. Our Republican picks are civic activist Nancy Hastings, Police Foundation official Ken Holt and former Licensed Beverage Association president Stephen Xintas.

The senatorial choices in the 7th District are downright dispiriting. Democratic incumbent Norman R. Stone Jr., the office-holder since 1966, is preferable to his challenger, Ford J. Greenwood, despite Mr. Stone's reputation as a senator who avoids taking stands. Perhaps the best thing to be said for his candidacy is that his seniority could win him a leadership position helpful to the county.

Not even the county's GOP chairman or other party veterans know much about the two Republicans in the Senate race, Onas W. Jansen Jr. and Russell Mirabile, who have ignored our own attempts to contact them. Based on what we've learned, our less than enthusiastic pick is Mr. Mirabile, a staunch conservative whose family is known in the area for owning a bingo hall-tavern. (The Republican Party should be embarrassed couldn't unearth better candidates.)

Of the District 7 Democrats eyeing the House, our selections are Dundalk-area political activist Thomas A. Baldwin, former Del. William J. Burgess, whose fiscal expertise would be welcome in Annapolis, and state employee Jacob J. Mohorovic Jr., a familiar name in local political circles. Two Republicans will run unopposed in the primary -- Jacqueline W. Madison and Robert J. Parsons.

5% Tomorrow: Legislative District 8.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.