Sen. McCabe attends political leaders school CAMPAIGN 1994 CAMPAIGN NOTES

August 11, 1994

State Sen. Christopher J. McCabe, R-District 14, recently attended the National Program for Emerging Political Leaders at the Darden School of Business Administration at the University of Virginia.

Mr. McCabe, one of 400 state legislators nominated for the school, is one of only 50 public servants selected. The program is designed to expand the leadership possibilities of emerging state legislators, to broaden their prospectives and to enable them to challenge the future in new, positive ways.

He was nominated for the school by Senate Minority Leader John A. Cade of Anne Arundel County.


Anyone wishing to receive a Ron Franks for U.S. Senate yard signcan pick one up at the county's Miller Branch Library on Frederick Road from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. Aug. 21.

Call Fred Klonin at 730-8691 or campaign headquarters at 1-800-3-FRANKS.


An organization dedicated to the election of strong female candidates has endorsed Virginia M. Thomas, a three-term member of the House of Delegates, in the state Senate race in District 13.

Ms. Thomas is one of 15 women candidates in Maryland recommended by Harriet's List and the only Howard candidate. Harriet's List, chaired by Sayra Wells Meyerhoff, raises campaign funds to elect "pro-choice" Democratic women to positions of power and influence in Maryland government.

Harriet's List is a political action committee with 650 member/contributors across the state. It formed in May 1993 to make campaign contributions to pro-choice, Democratic, non-incumbent women and has a 20-member board, including Susan Buswell, a Howard County resident who served in the Maryland House of Delegates and on the county school board.

Ms. Thomas, who also served two terms on the Howard County Council, is challenging incumbent Thomas M. Yeager in the Democratic primary race for the District 13 Senate seat.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.