Rain, high seas can't keep field down in Solomon's Invitational


July 31, 1994|By NANCY NOYES

Eastport Yacht Club's 14th annual Solomons Island Invitational Regatta, the overnight event from Annapolis to Solomons, brought the crews of 162 starters out for a wild ride in thundersqualls, rain, and fairly heavy chop last weekend.

New this year was an experiment with course lengths. The PHRF A-0 contenders sailed a total of 67 miles, rounding Point No Point Horn before turning back up the Bay to enter the Patuxent to the finish line, while the PHRF C, PHRF D, and Alberg 30 contestants sailed a 45-mile course straight into the Patuxent from the Bay, rather than using the traditional 55-mile course that carried the rest of the fleet around Hooper Island Light before heading back across the Bay and up the Patuxent.

The first to finish was William Mathers' enormous catamaran Shearwater, which cruised in to take the first gun at 2:10 a.m. after a 7:45 p.m. start the evening before and earn the F. Rollins Maxwell Jr. Memorial trophy. The last boat to finish, a PHRF C competitor, arrived at 9:22 a.m. Saturday.

Not surprisingly, and despite the extra distance, Jim Muldoon's Santa Cruz 70 Donnybrook arrived from her own 6:40 p.m. start and the extra 12 miles just 13 minutes after Shearwater to take the second gun. The third boat over the line was something of a surprise, however. At 2:58 a.m., the Zinn family's Capri 37 Infringer came up the river to the finish line, capturing the third gun of the morning for a stunning PHRF A-1 finish that corrected out to more than 13 minutes ahead of the nearest competition in the class.

The best corrected time in all of the PHRF classes completing the 55-mile course was turned in by the syndicate of Charlie Scott and Charlie Smith on their J/30 Burning Barnicle, winning the 27-starter PHRF B class, the race's largest.

"We rounded Tolley Point and headed south," Scott said. "We were on the wind 45 minutes the whole night, and the rest was just close reaching. We never tacked until we tacked around Hooper Island Light."

From there, it was another fetch, on a slightly looser reach, across the Bay and up into the Patuxent to the finish, Scott said, describing a race that involved only a single tack from Tolley to the finish.

EYC allows J/29 sailors to enter both the J/29 one-design and the MORC class, and three crews doubled up in both classes this year. First in both divisions thus went to the Lewis/Salvesen syndicate sailing Mirage to a 19-minute victory in J/29s and a four-minute edge in MORC with a finish well ahead of either pack, just after 4:30 a.m.

14TH annual Solomons Island race

IMS Cruiser/Racer (5 starters, 55 NM): 1. Where Egos Dare, Michael Johns, Annapolis, 5:29:33 c.t.; 2. Sounion, Charles Sullivan, University Park, 5:30:38 c.t.; 3. Rampage, Chip Thayer, Wilmington, De., 5:53:40 c.t.

MORC (10 starters, 55 NM): 1. Mirage, Lewis/Salvesen, Annapolis/Columbia/Edgewater, 7:06:04 c.t.; 2. Rude Awakening, Chuck O'Malley, Annapolis, 7:10:02 c.t.; 3. Fast Company, Barry Moss, Bethesda, 7:14:15 c.t.

Multihull (6 starters, 55 NM): 1. The Karis, Michael Ivy, Arlington, Va., 7:13:45 c.t.; 2. Shearwater, William Mathers, Annapolis, 7:31:02 c.t.; 3. Poltergeist, John Carr, [hometown unavailable], 7:40:02 c.t.

PHRF A-0 (12 starters, 67 NM): 1. Quintessence, Ben Michaelson, Annapolis, 8:45:32 c.t.; [2nd place finish not applicable due to 20% penalty assessed for check-in failure]; 3. Ramrod, Bert Jabin, Annapolis, 8:51:15 c.t.

PHRF A-1 (15 starters, 55 NM): 1. Infringer, Donald Zinn, Annapolis, 7:13:20 c.t.; 2. Yellow Jacket, BS&W Syndicate, Annapolis, 7:26:53 c.t.; 3. Promises, St. Mary's College, St. Mary's City, 7:33:28 c.t.

PHRF A-2 (18 starters, 55 NM): 1. Bang, Dave Gendell, Arnold, 7:13:45 c.t.; 2. Diablo, Russell Miller, [hometown unavailable], 7:21:36 c.t.; 3. The Simpsons, Thompson/Shannahan, St. Michaels, 7:27:01 c.t.

PHRF Sport (6 starters, 55 NM): 1. Warp Speed, Neil Murphy, Falls Church, Va., 7:08:58 c.t.; 2. Blonde Attack, Bill Sutton, Arlington, Va., 7:21:22 c.t.; 3. Mischief, Bingman/Teague, Arlington, Va., 7:35:57 c.t.

PHRF B (27 starters, 55 NM): 1. Burning Barnicle, Scott/Smith, Annapolis/Cambridge, 7:01:30 c.t.; 2. Aspire, Jack Yaissle, Allentown, Pa., 7:13:00 c.t.; 3. Nightingale, Karl Schneider, Annapolis, 7:28:40 c.t.

PHRF C (16 starters, 45 NM): 1. Truculent Turtle, Cook/Zahniser, Solomons, 6:48:04 c.t.; 2. Nepenthe, James Urban, Annapolis, 7:13:15 c.t.; 3. Nepenthe, Joe Botkin, Dagsboro, De., 7:16:51 c.t.

PHRF D (2 starters, 45 NM): 1. Aquichant, Bob Stevenson, Chalfont, Pa., 7:42:57 c.t.

Alberg 30 (3 starters, 45 NM): 1. Sundance, Nye/Evans, Annapolis, 11:10:27 e.t.; 2. Limerick, Pat Gorman, Annapolis, 11:46:28 e.t.

Catalina 27 (10 starters, 55 NM): 1. Pussycat, Bruce Johnson, Bowie, 10:52:14 e.t.; 2. Four Little Ducks, Tom Walsh, Annapolis, 10:58:25 e.t.; 3. Finnegan's Wake, John O'Brien, Pasadena, 11:07:31 e.t.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.