People In The News

June 26, 1994

Janet Handy honored for exceptional service

Janet Bush Handy, an assistant attorney general assigned to the State Highway Administration, received an Exceptional Service Award from the attorney general's office.

Ms. Handy, a longtime resident of Bel Air, is responsible for condemnation litigation in Harford and Baltimore counties.

Ms. Handy has been a member of the Harford County Bar Association since she was admitted to the bar in 1980.

Merri Cage receives Unsung Heroine Award

Merri Cage of Bel Air has received the Unsung Heroine Award from the Women's Forum at Essex Community College.

The award was established last year to recognize an employee who goes above and beyond her work responsibilities to provide service to the college and community. Award recipients are nominated by their colleagues and chosen by a committee of previous winners.

Ms. Cage, a teacher in the college's Early Childhood Learning Center preschool, joined ECC in 1978 as an assistant teacher.

Ms. Cage is a co-author of five children's books on sexual abuse prevention and has presented workshops on the subject. She has involved the hundreds of children in her charge in charitable causes, including food collections for Bea Gaddy's food pantry, making sandwiches for the Salvation Army, and collections of mittens and hats for needy children.

Ms. Cage teaches religion at St. Ignatius Church in Hickory and ** volunteers for the Harford County school system. She also has coached clinic soccer for the Bel Air Recreation Committee and was an assistant Cub Scout den leader.

Colleen Bowers wins Fulbright grant to teach

Colleen E. Bowers of Perry Hall, formerly of Street, has been awarded a Fulbright grant to teach pediatric nursing in Pakistan.

Ms. Bowers is one of about 2,000 U.S. Fulbright grant recipients who will travel abroad for the 1994-1995 academic year.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.