Students In The News

June 26, 1994

Environmental center awards scholarships

The Susquehannock Environmental Center in Bel Air, a nonprofit recycling and environmental education group, and the Harford County school system have awarded their annual scholarships to help high school students pursue careers in environmental fields.

Timothy Bethke of Edgewood High was picked as the countywide winner. He received a $4,500 scholarship.

Seven awards of $1,000 each also were presented.

Recipients were: Alicia Poper of Aberdeen High, Tina Waclawski of Bel Air High, Lisa Martinek of C. Milton Wright High, Cameron Weimar of Fallston High, Paul Oswald of Havre de Grace High, Darren Swift of Joppatowne High and Steven Zang of North Harford High.

Scholarship winners are selected for their volunteer conservation work, participation in school ecology clubs, grades and other accomplishments.

The scholarship program is financed by the sale of aluminum cans and corporate donations.

Six from Harford are Beacon scholars

Six Harford Community College students have been chosen as Beacon scholars and will be presenters at the Beacon '94 Conference, scheduled this month at Rockland Community College in Suffern, N.Y.

The conference for student scholars at two-year colleges is financed by a grant from the American Association of Community Colleges and the Kellogg Foundation. Harford Community College is among the sponsors.

Harford students submitted more than 100 papers on various topics. The Beacon scholars from Harford are: Jillian Marie Silveira, whose paper was "Does Lower Class Culture Perpetuate Poverty: Or, Is This View a Blame-the-Victim Approach"; Paul Gast and Cindy Graziosi, "Alternative Medicine: Enhances the Quality of Health Care?" Michele Fox, "Gender Role Socialization in the Classroom"; John Patrick Starling, "Black Marble Tablets"; and Teressa K. Molesky, "Norman Conquest of the Anglo-Saxons."

The conference will include presentations of papers in the arts, business and economics and other fields.

Joppa senior wins $1,000 scholarship

Joppa resident Lara Hadrys was selected recently as one of 25 high school seniors in the mid-Atlantic region to receive a $1,000 Long & Foster 25th Anniversary Scholarship.

Ms. Hadrys, a senior from Joppatowne High School, will attend Rollins College in Winter Park, Fla., this fall. She will major in education for speech, drama and art.

A member of the varsity swim and track teams, Ms. Hadrys is active in theater and was a member of the art and drama clubs at Joppatowne High.

She also belonged to the Student Government Association and the National Honor Society and has won several awards for speeches.

Sandra J. Buchman of Bel Air has received a doctor of medicine degree from the University of Maryland.

A 1984 graduate of C. Milton Wright High School and a 198honors graduate of St. Mary's College of Maryland, Dr. Buchman will begin a residency in orthopedic surgery at the University of Maryland this month.

Fallston senior named to U.S. Naval Academy

Fallston High senior David McKinney has been appointed to the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis.

Mr. McKinney, the son of William McKinney, has a 4.0 grade point average and is a member of the National Honor Society. He was on the football and basketball teams.

Youth wins scholarship from recreation council

Nathan Sandruck a senior at C. Milton Wright High School, is the 1994 winner of the annual Dublin Recreation Council Scholarship.

Information: 939-6724.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.