Narciso holds off Hogg to win his 3rd straight Publinx title

June 20, 1994|By John W. Stewart | John W. Stewart,Sun Staff Writer

Two-shot differences at the 10th and 15th holes provided Charlie Narciso with breathing room on challenger Serge Hogg, and the defending champion went on to victory in the annual Baltimore Publinx golf championship at Mount Pleasant Golf Course yesterday.

Since the old four-way Publinx tournament was restructured after a lapse of some 15 years, the new 36-hole event has had only two winners -- Walt Grabowski in 1990 and 1991, and Narciso, now working on a string of three in a row.

Not since the late 1970s, when Joe Walter was winning five successive Maryland Stroke Play titles and Bonnie Fry was taking five straight Women's Golf Association crowns, has a player had a stranglehold on an event similar to Narciso's.

It was a two-man race between Narciso and Hogg going to the back nine, and the margin was two -- the same as it was when the day began.

A Narciso four-foot birdie putt and a Hogg bogey raised the gap to four at No. 10, and after slicing the gap to three on two occasions, Hogg took himself out of contention with a double-bogey at the 15th.

"The last two times [in final rounds of this event] I hit driver at 15 and wound up making bogey both times," Narciso said. "This time, I had lost the honor when I three-putted the 14th. So Serge went first at 15 and knocked his 3-wood drive out of bounds.

"I hit 3-wood, kept it in play and made par."

That swing boosted his lead to five strokes. Both birdied the par-3 17th from inside of eight feet, and Hogg birdied the 18th to account for the final difference.

"I believe the best part of my round was that I thought my way around the course -- didn't make any big mistakes," said Narciso.

Forest Park, site of Saturday's opening round, and Mount Pleasant were in good condition, and players were especially complimentary of the greens on the latter course. Narciso's 71 was followed by three at 72 -- Drew Forrester, Bob Lentz and Dale Williams Jr.

The round started with Narciso holding a two-stroke lead on Hogg and Trip Burch, who was in the first flight. Burch, who had shot to the top of the flight with a 73 at Forest Park Saturday, slipped back with an 80.

Narciso had a solid front nine, faltering only with a bogey at No. 7.

Donald Stout won the first flight with 74-75149; Henry Butz won the second, 80-77157; and Mike Rabb won the third, 87-80167.

Championship: Charlie Narciso 71-71142; Serge Hogg 73-73146; Tim Osgood 76-73149; Mike Zgorski 75-74149; Louis Wright 75-75150; Dave Zorn 77-73150; Keith Janecek 74-77151; Larry Cronise 77-75152; Drew Forrester 80-72152; Greg Ruark 77-75152; Bob Lentz 81-72153; James Minter 77-76153; Tony Narciso 81-73154; Eric Nordstrom 79-75154. First flight: Donald Stout 74-75149; Trip Burch 73-80153; Dale Williams Jr. 82-72154; Shawn Clark 76-80156; Jim Gulley 79-80159; Jeffrey Amrhein 81-78159; Kelly McDonough 82-78160; Alan Rigney 79-82161; David Selby 80-81161; James Shifflett Jr. 82-80162; Michael Wall 80-84164.

Second flight: Hemry Butz 80-77157; Peter Rubin 83-76159; Jim Hickey 80-80160; Patrick Cohill 82-79161; Owen Dawson 79-82161; Dan Shannon 78-83161; Bill Trieschman 80-82162; Jon Mark 85-79164; Steven McCray 89-78167; Dave Riley 85-83168; Brendan Voss 84-84168. Third flight: Gross leaders--Mike Rabb 87-80167; Mark Katurakes 90-84174. Net leaders--David Ward 66-62128; Jeffrey Gasior 70-68138. Other gross leaders included: Daniel Duffy 87-94181; Jim Greenwood 91-91182; Ken Hayes 97-85182; Bill Schuh 90-92182; Jeff Davis 92-92184; Chester Noreika 88-96184; Tom McFalls 92-94186; George Watchinsky 93-94187; Paul Baker 95-93188.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.