Officers join Special Olympics run

June 17, 1994|By Ed Heard | Ed Heard,Sun Staff Writer

Officers from the Carroll County Sheriff's Department, Maryland State Police and Westminster Police Department signed up to participate yesterday in the 1994 Law Enforcement Special Olympics Torch Run.

The relay run is a fund-raiser for the Special Olympics Summer Games tomorrow and Sunday at Towson State University.

Carroll's leg was from the Frederick County line on Route 26, east to Route 27 and then south to Mount Airy.

More than 60 Howard County law enforcement officers were ready to take up the torch today outside Mount Airy, despite the hot weather.

Howard's part in the 12th annual Law Enforcement Torch Run is the next-to-last leg of the five-day run by Maryland officers carrying the "Flame of Hope." They will hand on the torch to Baltimore County officers for the last lap in the afternoon.

Runners from various parts of the state will converge on Towson for the opening ceremonies of the 1994 State Summer Games this evening.

Organizers expect to raise at least $100,000 for the Maryland Special Olympics, in which disabled athletes compete in a variety of sports.

"We want to encourage them to try their best," said Howard County police Sgt. Dave Ferguson, who was to participate in today's run. Yesterday, he stretched in front of police headquarters in Ellicott City and warmed up with a morning jog.

"I always enjoy running, but this is good for the kids," he said. "The heat will slow me down, but you don't think about it. You've got to stay focused so you can run."

Officers from the Howard County Police Department, Sheriff's Department and Department of Corrections, Maryland State Police Waterloo Barracks, U.S. Secret Service and FBI were to participate today.

More than 5,000 Maryland officers are expected to have participated in the run overall.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.