Kasnia joins Sykesville Town Council DTC

June 14, 1994|By Mary Gail Hare | Mary Gail Hare,Sun Staff Writer

E. Michael Kasnia will fill the Sykesville Town Council seat vacated last month by Walter White.

By a 6-0 vote last night, Mr. Kasnia, 47, a town resident for 16 years, replaced Mr. White, who resigned May 9 to devote himself to his new business.

Immediately after Mayor Kenneth W. Clark swore him in, Mr. Kasnia went to work on town business. "I deal in all levels of government in my work and was interested in becoming involved locally," said Mr. Kasnia, a food safety consultant who represents airlines and caterers. "I have the tools to deal with politics and getting things done."

Midway through his first session, Mr. Kasnia said he had seen many issues presented for council consideration that are reflections of larger issues he faces daily in his business.

Mayor Clark said he had received "three very qualified resumes" for the position.

The first order of business for the council was an anonymous letter that decried the recent 2-cent tax increase and the lack of municipal participation in Memorial Day and D-Day celebrations.

"I would love to have heard from this resident before we enacted the increase," Mayor Clark said. "We are always looking for citizens' input, especially on tax issues."

At a public hearing on the increase, no one commented.

The mayor said he also hoped that residents will "step forward with suggestions" on celebrations. The town plans its Flag Day observance at 7 p.m. today at the Town House, 7547 Main St.

As part of the town's 90th anniversary observance, Mr. Clark said he would like to acknowledge, monthly, residents who have made major contributions to town life.

The ceremonies would be similar to a week dedicated last month to Thelma Wimmer, who served a term on the Town Council and was a longtime member of the Historic District Commission.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.