High school students excel in media festival


June 14, 1994|By VICKI WELLFORD

Congratulations are in order for the following 11 Arundel Senior High School students who placed in various art categories in the Anne Arundel County 1994 Media Festival that was held in May:

* Life Studies: Courtney Saunders, first place; Mandy Frey, second place; Danielle Conrad, third place; and Carrie Barnes, Wendy Gridley, Melissa Keeney, Christine Linder, Christine Plumb and Angel Ogden, honorable mention.

* Still Life: Linder, second place; Ogden, third place; and Plumb, honorable mention.

* Landscape: Courtney Finch, first place; Plumb, second place; and Frey, honorable mention.

* Experimental: Dana Launius, honorable mention.


Every month Waugh Chapel Elementary School explores a theme as part of its citizenship studies.

May was "Making a Difference" month, and teachers recognized students who tried to make a big difference every day by doing kind and thoughtful things.

Those students are: Sheila Baily, Tabbatha Barrett, Louis Benson, Evan Centineo, Sarah Craig, Sarah Crook, Meredith Curtis, Nathan Curtis, Heather Damron, Lauren Davis, David Drummond, Brian Epps, Erin Evans, Jason Ford, Carey Franklin, Kyle Furnas, Scott Gearhart, Lindsay Grassel, Jeffrey Grimm, David Gutierrez, Joshua Harris, Marc Hepfer, Derek Holmgren, Tricie Joyce, Anna Kellner, Heather Kepple, Michael Korvin, Joshua Lang, Joseph LaRocque, Kristin Lee, Charla Lewis and Corey Ludlow.

Also, Amelia McMahon, Daniel McVeigh, Cassandra Miller, Ciara Miller, Jonathan Miller, Spenser Peterson, Stefanie Reavis, Sarah Neumann, Charles Rhodes, Michael Rogers, David Ruffin, Tabitha Russell, Stephanie Self, Adam Smith, David Spence, Anthony Stapleton, Rosemary Tuck, April Watts, Charlie Williams, Jazmine Williams, Thomas Wolking and Andree Zeller.


Archbishop Francis P. Keough Council of the Knights of Columbus held its annual election of officers for the 1994-1995 year Wednesday.

The new administration will be headed by Grand Knight Joseph Snook. He will be assisted by Mark Conroy, deputy grand knight.

The Rev. John Harrison, pastor of St. Joseph's Church, will continue as chaplain.

The other officers are: Mike Pendleton, chancellor; George Riggs, warden; Will LaPierre, inside guard; George Price, outside guard; Les Hiett, recorder; Mike Winger, advocate, and Tom Bresnaham, treasurer. Ed Wyrwas will continue as financial secretary.

Delegate to the state convention next May is Jack McLaughlin, with Rich Walz and Dan Bauman to serve as first and second alternates, respectively.

Members of the holding company to oversee the new regime are Joe Hundley, Will LaPierre, Jack McLaughlin, Mike Siemasko, Dave Wallace and Rich Walz.

The grand knight is in the process of forming a new cabinet to fill the directorships of council, community, family, youth and church activities. George Murray will fill the public relations post.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.